We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Want in a Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours

Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours
150m norte del Cementerio, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
+506 8304 7161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not your run-of-the-mill tours! Private and group tours in all of the cloud forest trails in the Monteverde area. Exclusive sightseeing tours, transfer/farm/lunch tour, and private coffee tours also available. Guiding is not just a job; it is a commitment and a lifestyle!
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything You Want in a Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Marcos is from Monteverde, however he and his wife, Susu lived in Colorado for 5 years, so his English is impeccable. He was referred to me and I can see why. I went on 2 walks with him, a private afternoon nature hike and a night walk with the company he guides for every evening, Wildlife Refuge Tours (also under "Activities" in T.A.). For our private hike he chose a very sheltered, beautiful trail in the Monteverde "Enchanted Children's Forest" (also in T.A.), of which he's on the Board of Directors, and we spent a great 2 and 1/2 hours walking and spotting Wild Turkeys, an Olingo ( very rare), Coati, quail, birds and more. He is extremely knowledgable, an avid conservationist, with a friendly, enthusiastic personality. Call him, he's a sure bet! Oh, by the way, it cost $50.00 U.S., very reasonable for an entire afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
What a great review! We also enjoyed meeting your friend who you referred to us a couple of months ago. Thank you!
-Susu and Marcos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Margaret Salt Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Or third visit to Costa Rica and our second to St. Elena, our friends from the UK's first. Marcos gave us a great morning in the St.Elena Cloud Forest. Personable, warm and very informative. Our best guiding experience in Costa Rica so far. Totally recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
So glad we were part of making your trip great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Costa Rica - Wildlife Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pasion Costa Rica Tours provided an excellent guided tour of the cloud forest. We saw so much wildlife and our guide Marcos was so friendly and informative that we booked a night tour with him the next day. Fantastic experience! Marcos was extremely knowledgeable, informative and entertaining; with an obvious passion for his work. Marcos and Susu are wonderful people, who were super friendly and helpful; we really enjoyed their company and our conversations about sustainble eco-tourism. We highly recommend theri services to anyone visitng Monteverde.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! It was our pleasure to be a part of your Costa Rica trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great guided tours of the Monteverde reserves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My friends and I had a great day of touring with Marcos a monteverde local. He took us to the Curi concha reserve in the morning, the Selvaturra hanging bridges in the afternoon and a night tour in the evening. He was friendly, knowledgable, and great to spend the day with. He provided transportation as well. He showed us a wide variety of birds, plants and animals throughout the three tours. He drove out of the way to the night tour to show us a sloth he knew was hanging out in a tree by the road.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks so much; your review is highly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never a dull moment! Costa Rica Resident Recommends Marcos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On 20 January 13 Marcos guided enthusiastic English birder friends and me on a terrific walk through Reserve St. Elena; and, because Marcos knew that one of the friends was a botanist he brought along a local expert to identify and describe the rich flora of the reserve. There was learning going on with all in the group as each had the skills to identify the trees, ferns, birds, fungi and, on top of all of that, the history of the reserve and the Monteverde area. We were so happy to have this wonderful experience with an expert guide and clearly dedicated conservationist. I give Marcos and Pasion Costa Rica a ++++++ (I live in Costa Rica and have been guided by a variety of terrific experts, Marcos is the best.) Marcos made sure we were comfortable with needed facilities, and an opportunity for coffee/cold drinks and snacks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Janis! We are finally writing responses on our reviews, and wanted to make sure we thanked you for this one. It has helped bunches. We have also enjoyed tours with friends you have sent our way. Come back to Monteverde soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.