We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taco stand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Taco

Taco Taco
250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Englewood, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“taco stand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was one of my favorite eats of our 10 day trip! Excellent mexican fare!! Just a little shack next to a hostel so nothing fancy. Not really even a place to sit and eat unless you share with the outside seating of the hostel. Get it to go and you won't be sorry if you love quick authentic mexican, not taco bell!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    94
    30
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our usual lunch spot over the few days my friend and I were visiting. Great, fresh ingredients. Tried a few different tacos, and they were all good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tacos Tacos was hand down our favorite place to eat in Monteverde. We went here twice! The burritos and tacos were both equally delicious. They also have pretty fun drinks (mango mint slush). Not a lot of seating area but if you do get a spot, it's a great place to people watch and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, but I have had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There are no taco shops in Costa Rica like in Mexico so went you see a sign that reads tacos, you expect tacos via Mexico style. This place did not provide that style but it was not bad, especially if need to eat

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do yourself a flavor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I will say hands down that this is one of my favorite places to eat...probably in the world. Yeah, I know right? I did just say that.( And im pretty sure ill feel the same when I wake up tomorrow). This place let me tell you, is so ****ing good I could not stay away my whole time in Santa Elena . I would pay to have this little dive restaurant in my city! The flavor combinations are unique and the dishes are excellently balanced, cooked well, and are abundant in flavor. I will also be so bold to say that the salsa was THE tastiest I've ever had. I had to shake the hand of the lady who owns the place. Chips and salsa are served with everything, which is nice. My favorite was the pork al pastor burrito with pineapple relish. So good. The mango and mint shake was also killer. Dine on the porch of the Pension, which is a cozy hip hostel, while people watching and enjoying the afternoon rain shower.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Taco also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Taco Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.