We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful birder and gracious guide.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esteban - Daily Guided Tours in Monteverde - Private Tours

Esteban - Daily Guided Tours in Monteverde - Private Tours
Reserva de Monteverde, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
(506) 86855982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nature guided tours through the most well known reserves in Monteverde
Swampscott, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful birder and gracious guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I cannot say enough about the 2 days of birding and adventuring we had with Esteban.His knowledge of the birds Costa Rica, there behavior, calls and song was truly impressive. A wonderful sense of humor and a true gentleman. We could not have asked for a more experienced guide . Hopefully will return to do Monteverde with him.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Esteban is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 2 days, one for a night tour in curi-cancha, and one for a daytime walk at a private reserve. My 6 year old boy was full of questions and Esteban was really enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Both my kids (ages 4 and 6) said that hiking with him was the highlight of our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. Excellent English explanations, warm and friendly, NOT TO BE MISSED!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Birdin tour in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Esteban is a very knowledgable and intuitive naturalist with a great knack for locating birds. He does provide private tours throughout Costa Rica as well as in Monteverde. Had some great views of Three-wattled Bellbird, Resplendent Quetzel and Blue-crowned Motmot. Look him up. I assumed everyone was up there to bird. Let him know. Still, I had a great morning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quetzal sightings in Curi-Cancha with Esteban!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Esteban was recommended by Johan, a naturalist in Manuel Antonio. Johan was amazing and we knew Esteban would have to be too. We were so glad to get in touch with him. He picked us up and took us to Curi-Cancha where we had such a wonderful time with him and our group. We searched for the quetzal and Esteban wouldn't give up and then we spotted not one, not two, but three! Two of those were juveniles. It was like magic. One of the best moments of our trip.Thanks Esteban!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranst
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Curi-Cancha with Esteban - the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Esteban is the best! If you can make it up the 17km (which takes about 50 minutes to cover driving) of unpaved road (with cliffs on the side and no barrier) to Monteverde, you are in for a treat. Initially, my husband and I wanted to visit the Monteverde Cloud Forest, however, given we only had time in the afternoon, Esteban suggested that we visit the Curi-Cancha Wildlife Reserve. We are so glad we took his suggestion. We were rewarded with a nearly private tour of the reserve and sightings of spider monkeys, a red brocket deer, a keel-billed toucan, an agouti, hummingbirds, and a three-wattled bell bird. Esteban is extremely knowledgeable and most importantly, passionate about nature. I suggest that travelers to Costa Rica first inform themselves about the roads and overall driving conditions. If one can get past that, then it is important to hire a local guide, because he or she knows what to look for with respect to sights, sounds, and smells and will bring the whole experience to life. Finally, if you are going to Monteverde, I would highly recommend Esteban. The nature walk that my husband had with him in Curi-Cancha will rest as one of my fondest memories of Costa Rica. Being from the area, Esteban also has great suggestions on sleeping accommodations, restaurants, and more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esteban - Daily Guided Tours in Monteverde - Private Tours also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Esteban - Daily Guided Tours in Monteverde - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esteban - Daily Guided Tours in Monteverde - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.