We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place...an oasis of nature and beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arco Iris Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved this place...an oasis of nature and beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were so lucky to find this place by chance after driving for 8 hours all day! We saw the property and thought there was no way we could afford it but decided to check it out, and we are glad we did! The normal rooms were $80 but they had bunk rooms for $35 for 2 people and it was perfect for us! Clean, quiet and really good energy! We loved the green grass and chairs to sit in the sun. Staff were very nice and genuine....we recommend it highly - it was a gem in Costa Rica for us and we only wish we had more time to stay longer!

Room Tip: For those on a budget, ask for the bunk rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    135
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
203
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our stay at Arco Iris. First off, let it be known that this is the best breakfast in town! They have chickens on site, and offer homemade bread, cheese, yogurt, local honey, eggs to order, and if you are at breakfast around 7:30-8am, you are in for a show. There is a group of about 5 capuchins that come for breakfast and don't leave till they get their fill of bananas. These guys are not shy, and if you are sitting next to the window, you will be face to face with this guys.
Our room was nice, although they have more private cabins, but those are hard to book. The room was done in beautiful wood paneling, the bed was good, and there was a tv with HBO. I know, you are thinking "I won't be watching t.v. I will be out where the action is!" But trust me, we were out every day and most nights, and it was good to have a bit of t.v. to watch when we were too exhausted to get back out there. Never underestimate down time, on a vacation.
The water situation is great! They have all potable water throughout the hotel (the town water is supposedly fine to drink) but as if that was not enough, the have filtered water available from a tap in the lobby which is some of the best water I had the whole time I was in Costa Rica. Better than bottled.
There are two friendly "guard dogs" and two little cats that run around, so that was fun. One of the cats hopped right up on my lap on the couch in the lobby. The Arco Iris is right in Santa Elena, so you can walk anywhere for dinner, entertainment, night life, etc...
Keep in mind, it is cold in Monteverde, so get an extra blanket ready if you need one! And the people at the front desk are really helpful booking activities, and transport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great place to stay in Santa Elena, just a short walk to lots of restaurants, coffee shops etc. The setting was fantastic with a number of cabins around the property with trails in the grounds, we were accompanied by one of the hotel's dogs when we walked these, one leading to a great viewing point out to to the ocean. Rooms were rustic and comfortable with blankets (it cools down at night) and a wonderful rainfall shower. Staff on reception were great and speak several languages, they helped us book a night wildlife tour on the day of our arrival and a canopy tour - both great value. We also book the jeep-boat-jeep connection to La Fortuna through the hotel at a bargain $25 (the cheapest offer I saw). Breakfast was a well spent $7 with meats, cheese, eggs cooked to order, fruit, cereals, breads and great coffee. The cafe at the foot of the hill (part of the orchid gardens) also serves a fantastic traditional Costa Rican coffee and lovely French toast with blackberry sauce (worth the trip). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pros
- Rooms located in private "cottages"
- Nice bathroom with rainfall shower and lots of space
- Charming "cabin like" feeling in the room
- Decent mattress and bed
- Cozy and clean
- Free access to the Internet in lobby
- Located in the middle of the city, but in a nice private area with beautiful grounds
- Monkeys spotted climbing on the roof tops!
- Helpful staff
- Tours can be booked directly with the hotel
Cons
- Short walk up a steep hill
- Breakfast not included
- No pool, but cold when we were there so it didn't matter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is very basic in furnishings but lots of space, and you aren't in your room very long and you aren't paying that much. The grounds are very pleasant and the breakfast is very nice. All the restaurants they suggested were within walking distance and were very good. We arrived around noon, not having had lunch, and wanted to do the coffee tour, the night tour, and then the next day, a hike in the rainforest, before being picked up at 2 to go to the next hotel. They arranged it all! amazing! We went off for lunch and upon our return, we were off. The coffee/chocolate/sugar cane tour was a lot of fun, and then we were taken from there to the night tour, where we saw amazing animals. The next morning we went on a walk through the cloud forest. Saw lots, and got back a little later than checkout. Then off for lunch and back just in time for our trip to the next hotel, also arranged by this hotel.
To top it off, I lost a sweater (wrapped around my waist and lost in the excitement out on the trail) on the night walk. When I realized it was gone, I asked the hotel to check to see if my sweater had turned up,but it hadn't. Later on our trip, we got an email that the sweater had turned up and that they were sending it to our home in Pennsylvania.
Definitely would stay there again. We felt very taken care of. Also learned how to choose a good lichee and how to eat it which was useful at the next hotel where they had them out for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arco Iris Lodge is conveniently located in the heart of Santa Elena, yet despite being so central, it's set off the road and thereby avoids road noise. It's a haven, surrounded by trees, once on the property you feel as if you're in your own world. The buildings are all wood and are tasteful and cozy. I want to transport one of their cabins back to the US and live in it... The breakfast is delicious, definitely add it onto your bill! The staff was all very friendly as well, they are available and willing to help book tours, adventures and share restaurant recommendations.

I really enjoyed my stay at Arco Iris!

Room Tip: If you can, avoid room 20. We stayed there, it's located below two other rooms and you can defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best hotel I have ever stayed at. Staff is incredible and friendly, everyone is amazing, the restaurant has monkeys in the morning that come up to the window to eat plantains, the rooms are clean and the shower is good. The location is perfect (go to Morpho's, literally 50m from our hotel room, for an amazing dinner), and they have a computer with complementary internet. I could not rate this place any higher than the best, it's an eco-lodge in a class of its own. They have a beautiful garden too, if you want to take a stroll.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked pretty good to me, don't sweat it too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arco Iris Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arco Iris Lodge to your Saves list