We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana Monteverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Montana Monteverde to your Saves list
Hotel Montana Monteverde
PO Box 07-5655, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Rooms all face the Golfo de Nicoya with an uninterrupted blue sky view. I was with a 9-person tour group that stayed 2 nights. All meals were good family style and some buffet style. Wifi available only in lobby, was adequate. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Comfortable bed and great sleeping because of wonderful breezes. Very clean large rooms, giant tub in the bath. Trail on property for walking or walk up the highway 15 min. for Bat Jungle, Artists Cooperative and Cheese Factory. Hotel is on side of steep hill, with steps and paths that may be moderately challenging to some. Good choice for a short stay.

Room Tip: We were in "deluxe" rooms. Standard rooms also available. Stay in main hotel part if walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    51
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I agree - beautiful views, nice room in terms of having a view & cleanliness. Unhelpful staff- couldn't get a cup of coffee or even hot water in the evening without feeling like we were asking for the moon, and nothing in the rooms to make hot water like at both other CR hotels we've been at on this trip. Weak wifi only in the lobby, which can't take the load with 5 or more people log on. Bed was okay - a little firm for my taste. Can't compare to other hotels in the area since we our on our first trip. Food was okay. I've had worse, and we are part of a tour group - but so far all other places have been fabulous for food, even with my no dairy/no eggs/ no sugar issues. Our bathtub is great - heard some bad things from the others on our tour, like water stopping in the middle of a shower after going cold. But I have stayed in worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Montana Monteverde. My partner and I spent two days here after being away from Monteverde for four years. It was nice to return to this beautiful community in the cloud forest of Costa Rica. Before booking our stay I checked reviews on TripAdvisor. Finding positive reviews we booked. The evening before our stay I called to confirm the reservation. The gentleman who answered was very pleasant and located our reservation immediately. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk by the same pleasant gentleman. We found the hotel to be very clean, comfortable and staffed by friendly and helpful people. I highly recommend this hotel for location, fair price, convenience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent two nights here with a seven-person tour group. Ate all our meals in the dining room. Set in the side of a steep hill, but with steps and meandering paths that make walking the grounds a little easier. Beautiful valley views out the back window of the rooms. Nice facility -- reception, dining area, and rooms all clean and comfortable. Mammoth soaker tub in the bathroom of each room. Very friendly staff. Family style meal for breakfast; menu and plated meals at lunch and dinner. Generally good food, with two exceptions. Some fresh fruit, but no bananas on hand (this is Costa Rica, right, where they are grown?). The tenderloin steak on the menu turned out to be of varying quality -- one person's was great, another was stringy, to the extent that it was nearly inedible. On the other hand, chicken dishes with special fruit-based salsas were consistently very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had wonderful 4 day stay at the hotel. We had made a reservation at another hotel that shall remain nameless, but is very highly rated on trip advisor. We both found other place quite depressing.

We called the Hotel Montana Monteverde not knowing what to expect. We arrived there a few minutes later and it was like arriving in another world. It was only slight more expensive than the original hotel.

We were given a beautiful room with a terrace to watch the beautiful sunsets. It was clean with two very comfortable queen-sized beds.

The staff was friendly and the manager spoke fluent English and was helpful and an interesting person to speak with and made excellent suggestions for things to see. I wanted to go horseback riding and he sent me to El Rodeo, just out of town where I had a 2 hr + ride through their farm, woods and small coffee fields. It was wonderful and very reasonable.

We only had our breakfasts at the hotel. They were excellent and served promptly.

While the Hotel Montana Monteverde isn't a boutique hotel, it was very, very nice and a great value.

Though the hotel is on the main road leading into the Monteverde Cloud Forest, it is easy to miss. We missed it a couple of times even after we had arrived. Look carefully for their sign.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Upon first entering this hotel we were slightly disappointed, while the lobby is well appointed, there is no pool (an issue when travelling with a 7 year old) and no wifi in the room, a real issue for somebody like myself who needs to be constantly connected. The service of the hotel staff quickly removed any concerns. Throughout our three day stay in the Monteverde area, the staff always looked after even the most minor request, recommended and booked tours and were even patient when our son wandered behind the front counter at every possible occasion. We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast where they obviously have a buffet, however it is housed behind the kitchen doors and one must order what one wants. This is an issue when you have a full day of hiking planned. The grounds are very nice and they have begun landscaping behind the hotel and if you are lucky you can see a hummingbird or other wildlife around the pond. A good location at the top of the hill leaving Santa Elena towards Monteverde and a pleasant walk downtown for shopping, seeing people or a meal. We would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very nice place to stay. Accommodations were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, too. Views from the room and the restaurant were terrific. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again! Parents with adult children ages 19 & 22. We all liked our stay! Really enjoyed the rocking chairs on the deck off of the restaurant. Beautiful view, quiet, serene!

Room Tip: Our room had a great view...seems like most are well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Address: PO Box 07-5655, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montaña Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.