We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst bed Ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana Monteverde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana Monteverde to your Saves list
Hotel Montana Monteverde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerro Plano | Puntarenas, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Worst bed Ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The view was great, breakfast was decent, and the staff were incredibly helpful but the "gardens" and walkways were poorly marked, the room semi-clean, and WIFI unavailable in the rooms. The shower was touchy and the temperature in the rooms were not comfortable at night - no way to regulate it. The private balcony and view were the highlights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    60
    15
    7
See reviews for
39
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this hotel with a tour group. The room is clean, ok views, breakfast is fine. Dinner food was nothing special .... I wish we had gone in to the town instead. The only problem was the moths .... They are everywhere even inside the rooms. No air conditioning in the rooms. Free WIFI in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a horrific car journey to Monteverde the Hotel was relaxing haven. The rooms are clean comfortable well appointed. However the WiFi only works in the lobby and the hotels looks tired or at least not well treated. Their are no amenities and the bar was not open. The dining room was empty and not set up for guests dining as if they did not really expect anyone to stay there to eat. A few local restaurants are close but a cheap cab ride into St. Elena is worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at this hotel as part of a Gate1 Travel Fly & Drive package - which worked very well for our party of 10. After driving up to Monteverde on those awful roads, we were pleasantly surprised at the Hotel Montana. The rooms were lovely with a small balcony. The lobby and surroundings were very pleasant. There was no AC, but none was needed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was so helpful in finding us tours, etc. In fact the staff was probably the nicest we encountered on our trip in CR. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Good:
Incredible views of the surrounding country. you really couldn't ask for a better view of the Punta Arenas area.

Also, if you are wanting to see the Cloud Rain Forest or do some Ziplining, this is an excellent central location.

The tubs are huge, perfect for two people if one was on a honeymoon

The Bad:
The beds are hard as rocks. Bring a comforter with you if you don't like hard beds
No pool
The food is mediocre and a bit overpriced in my opinion.
Forget about the bar. Way overpriced

I have heard that Tramonti is a very good place to eat though we didnt get a chance to try it.
Wouid I stay here again..probably

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights visiting the Monteverde area. Good basic rooms, good size. WiFi only worked in lobby area. Try and stay in the main building, the other rooms can be far away and a uphill walk and difficult on rainy days. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotels has no other amenities, no pool, gift shop, etc. As stated above, nice basic property, but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent two nights here with our National Geographic tour. Our room was in a separate building. It was quite large with a patio and view.
The service was great, but the food left a lot to be desired. We had the same menu for lunch and dinner for both days (i.e. one menu) and the food was overcooked and tough, especially the meat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Address: Cerro Plano | Puntarenas, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.