We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty to look at and you get an education.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
50 mts sur-este de Banco Nacional, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
506-2645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty to look at and you get an education.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was lucky enough to have my own private tour guide and he was great, answered all of my questions and I took pictures of everything!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NolaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    88
    19
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Tiniest Orchids in the World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Amazing to know all these tiny flowers are found in the area. The tour lasts 1 hour and comes with the entrance fee. A unique little garden.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DupontTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a back yard garden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

this is a backyard garden hidden between the backs of restaurants. They want $10 US to walk the garden path, do not waste your time or money

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had no idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to follow the little sign to the side of the coffee shop, directiong us to the Orchid Garden, and we're so glad we did! Our guide started by giving us each a magnifying glass, then took us through the little garden, which contained so much more than we expected. The tiny orchids were fascinating, and we were surprised to learn how many grow in the cloud forest. We wanted to go back to take more photos, but our time was limited. A lovely way to spend an hour or so . . .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BluffHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A remarkable resource in Santa Elena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Santa Elena is sadly lacking in the charming green goodness of the forests that surround it. It's just tacky. EXCEPT for the Orchid Garden, which serves as a reminder of what's really special about the area--and it ain't ziplines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing