We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced at $10 for how much there is to see” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
50 mts sur-este de Banco Nacional, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
506-2645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
Denver
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Overpriced at $10 for how much there is to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were done in 10 minutes. Very limited flowers in June. Should charge less for what you see. Thought the other sights around town were auch better value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    63
    13
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“View the smallest orchids in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A beautiful stroll through this garden where the smallest orchids in the world grow in peace. Must love flowers!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got a very detailed tour of the gardens which was helpful since the orchids are very tiny. It was looking at another world. Hard to believe these amazing plants are out there. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the garden. Please know that the orchids are minature...beautiful...but tiny

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A wonderful attraction not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of 4 of us visited the orchid garden and found it to be most interesting. A well informed guide provided a great tour. The number of orchid species is very impressive and provides a great photo opportunity.
Highly recommended
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a must if you love flowers! Sllightly hidden entrance at the bottom of the hill next to a coffee shop. Great tour of some magnificent orchids. You are given a magnifying glass to actually see the microsopic orchids. They are REALLY that small. So many different types. Our guide Keilyn was patient and very in the know of all the plants. She made the tour fun. great place for couples, family, school kids, etc. Don't forget to set your flower mode on your camera. Thanks for the orchid in a jar Keilyn..!! Cheers, ~Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.