We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like orchids...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
50 mts sur-este de Banco Nacional, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
506-2645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
New hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like orchids...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the orchid garden one afternoon just prior to closing. The garden is a collection of orchids attached to trees or under a greenhouse with winding cement pathways. While small, they have around 400 different types of orchids. Not all of these are in bloom at the same time however- during our trip we probably saw around 100 different flowers.
We took the guided tour which was excellent! Our guide (katelyn?) was very knowledgeable and spoke English very well. The majority of the orchids which were in bloom while we were there were mini orchids- many required a hand held magnifying glass to appreciate the colors and details. I would not have enjoyed the garden nearly as much without the tour, as it is very hard to find some of the blooms when they are so small!

The garden does not take credit cards, however it was only $10 or so per person and well worth it! If you are traveling to monteverde (or anywhere in Costa Rica) you can't expect small businesses to take credit cards.

I would gladly return to the orchid garden!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    7
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Does not take credit cards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This garden does not take credit cards. We were very disappointed not to be able to see the orchids. Staff was very unfriendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Give yourself 45 minutes to an hour and learn about orchids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This small orchid garden, located behind a cafe, offers an amazing look at orchids -- not the hybrid type we're used to seeing in the U.S., but the multitude of varieties that are native to the cloud forests...including some so small, if you don't see them in the Monteverde Orchid Garden, you'll never spot them out in the forest. Have lunch first at the Orchid Garden Cafe and get $2 off the $10 admission to the garden (even at $10, it's still a good deal).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid small suprise in St Elena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

May be it is a small garden but there is an amazing number of orchids, most of them with beautiful flowers (large and very very small). Guide was very enthousisatic and informative. I have learned a lot about orchids. We spend almost two hours there. There were beautiful birds as well. Flowers are attractive to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Loved it and I'm not a flower person at all!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I didn't want to visit this place as I'm more fauna than flora, but my wife talked me into it. And for the Nth time, it served as a reminder for why I should always listen to her!! :-)

The Orchid Garden was beautiful... ...so many different orchids, and of varying sizes. I was blown away by the tiny orchids that you had to see with a magnifying glass. Our guide was a young girl who was extremely knowledgeable about orchids so the tour was entertaining and educational.

I recommend the Orchid Garden. I have a new found respect for Orchids, and I am not lying when I write that I bought violet orchids for my house a week after we got back from CR.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.