We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
50 mts sur-este de Banco Nacional, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
506-2645-5308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Santa Elena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
Gettysburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Educational and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is not a garden that wows you with thousands of huge orchids. Rather the enchantment comes through learning about the variety and growth habits of the many local orchids. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. The high rating the garden receives is well earned and I recommend a visit to anyone interested in gardening. We also loved the Morphos cafe next door.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    12
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great family run garden with amazing miniature orchids. We had fun with our hand-lenses and tour guide.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Many orchids are tiny...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is really small place. Don't expect big garden. Many of the orchids are so small, they give you a magnifying glass to see them.
For me it was interesting. But don't expect anything spectacular.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I really liked the setting. The garden is small, but features a large collection of orchids. Surprisingly, most are so tiny that you really have to view them with a magnifying glass. Bring your favorite Macro lens if you want to take pictures!

As a nice side benefit, your ticket is good for a discount at the Cafe outside of the garden, or two free drinks at Morpho's.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Chipstead, Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This small privately owned orchid garden is a veritable treasure trove of orchids from the miniscule to the more familiar sizes. Provided with personal magnifying glasses we were taken on a fascinating tour of this garden by an extremely well informed young lady (daughter of the owner?) who explained everything to us in excellent English. An added benefit was the excellent bird table which attracted a lovely selection of birds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.