We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Inexpensive, Quality Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maravilla

Maravilla
Carretera A Monteverde | MONTEVERDE, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645-6623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Inexpensive, Quality Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We must have looked lost. A woman on the street of Santa Elena asked if we were looking for dinner...well, yes. She said to head to Maravilla. "That's where the locals go", she said. Well, that's a good enough reason as any!

Inexpensive meal. Nice variety of menu items. Kind service. One of our most enjoyed meals in Monteverde area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    10
    32
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Service was great and the atmosphere was awesome, especially for our larger party of 6.
Food was great and the prices weren't really any different than many other places in Costa Rica.
Recommended to us by the hostel down the street--I think they made a good suggestion.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had lunch on November 7th 2012 at Maravilla.

We had a 'Casado' (costa rica traditional food) with mea wich was plentiful and very good, and a spaghetti bolognese with was OK.

We sat on the back balcony and they filled in the bird feeder so we could enjoy the visit of many hummingbirds!

Check was $20 with one soda. Service was friendly and fast.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for the budget traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great option for the budget traveler. Costa Rica is expensive when eating out, so if you want to go to a place that is affordable and good, this is your place in Santa Elena.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent value for little money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome if you look for really good typical Costa-Rican food, for little money and don't expect a posh atmosphere or serving etiquette. It's a basic familyrun restaurant, likely the cheapest place in town with very friendly service. We've been there nearly every day having Ceviche, Casados, soups and batidos. Those dishes are really well seasoned with attention paid to the detail. Who would go into a typical tico-restaurant and order Spaghetti or candlelight-atmosphere?!? (see reviews below)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maravilla also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Maravilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maravilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.