We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Local artisans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde

Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645-5190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 19 things to do in Santa Elena
Attraction details
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
359 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Many Local artisans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This may be the best place to look for art in this area, but it is by no means anything special. There was quite a bit of variety (woodwork, jewelry, linens etc) at decent prices but if you are looking for high-quality art, it's not here. I did a separate review on the very average restaurant that is inside this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Handmade crafts at excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're looking for nice, handmade crafts, then be sure to visit C.A.S.E.M. There's a nice selection (wish there was more) of very nice (but usually not top-notch) arts and crafts. And they have the best prices that we saw in any Costa Rican shops. Usually, the price tag is between a quarter and half of what you'll see elsewhere. We bought two items and later regretted not buying several more.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I did not find anything exceptional in crafts here but the cooking out back was extraordinary! The 45 minute wait for lunch was worth every minute. The fresh corn for the tortilla was ground in front of us and then worked into a tortilla----a treat of a lifetime! The roast chicken was one of the most flavorful I have experienced. Do stop and eat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jskart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wish I'd bought all of our souvenirs here. They had a good selection--better than most other places, and prices were better than elsewhere. Didn't eat here, but we bought coffee at the "Whole Foods" shop just behind it--also much cheaper than elsewhere, and locally produced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TawnyaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Support Local Artisans and Eat Tasty Tico Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The selection of locally-made crafts in this women's co-op is *excellent* - definitely different from the average tourist spot. They have everything from hand-made paper to intricately embroidered clothing, often using the images of the local flora and fauna in the designs. Prices are quite reasonable, especially given the unique nature of the items. The soda in the back has some of the best tico cuisine I've ever tasted (easily as good as many of my tico husband's aunties produce). The food is prepared fresh for each order with as much local produce as possible. If you're looking for the authentic flavor of Costa Rica, this is the place!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing