We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Night Tour

Hidden Valley Night Tour
Hidden Valley Trail, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 17 things to do in Santa Elena
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We did the Hidden Valley Night tour which was about a 1/2 mile walk. Flashlights are provided and it is a pretty easy walk but is a natural trial with roots. We saw a tarantula, army ants, leaf cutting ants, fireflies, a frog and some birds. The guide discussed the different trees also. While not bad I wish we selected another night tour company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We really enjoyed the night tour - our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. He explained everything in great detail and was able to point out some very interesting critters. He was careful to ask about if anyone had fear of spiders and other bugs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Guide was low quality and in a rush”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I understand that when you go on a wildlife hunt at night you roll the dice as to whether you will see anything or not. Our problem with this tour was our guide. She was very serious, not friendly, and pushy. Our guide would not let us linger where we wanted to and pointed out wild life (spiders, grasshoppers and leaf cutter ants) that were not crepuscular. We constantly felt rushed and that she felt she would rather be somewhere else. On the van ride home she confirmed our feeling as she texted and chatted on her phone that she was on her way. My advice is to SKIP the night tour and do something else with your time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too crowded, but ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First, we did see a variety of wildlife, sloths, vipers, foxes, and quite a few arachnids and insects.

That said... we were in a group of 8 people, and of that, half were extremely noisy, giggling, yelling, stomping thorugh the brush. I can pass that off as a hazard of going on any group tour with people you don't know.

However, there were about a half dozen such groups all in the same relatively small area, all noisy, and I feel that this seriously hampered our ability to see much of anything. Our guide took us away from the crowds near the end of the tour for about 30 minutes, which was a welcome respite, but aside from a few lizards and insects, we saw very little.

Overall, I think the tour has potential, but noisy cityslickers and hooting crowds do not make for a sight-filled wildilfe tour.

If I could do it over, I would have searched for a private guide.

If you have children, or are just looking for a chance to see a few things you've never seen before, go for it, but don't expect to see a lot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Scary - but brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This walk was the nuts. We saw snakes, scorpions, tarantulas, funnel web spiders, and a heap of mammals including a grey fox, sloth, agouti etc. Our guide was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Valley Night Tour also viewed

 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Hidden Valley Night Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Night Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.