We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabor Tico

Sabor Tico
Frente la Plaza de Deportes Monteverde | Centro Comercial Monteverde, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had this place on our list and then people kept telling us to that they heard from locals that it was recommended. Very good food. Simple, vegetarian food --- cassado and arroz vegetariano -- but really hit the spot. We went to the location in the "mall" so the ambiance was nothing special but the food was solid.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    133
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“When in Monteverde, it's to Sabor Tico I go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Since I have visited Monteverde three times prior and having eaten here before many times, I knew what to expect...and it did not let me down this year. There are three reasons why I come here every time
1. it's reasonable
2. food is good, especially the guacamole with chips, fruit drinks and very large portions
3. it's right down the stairs from the Monteverde Rustic Lodge, my favorite place to stay when I'm here

You can tell that there are lots of tourists stopping in here, based on the languages they speak, and I see them again over the next few nights, so I am guessing they are just as pleased as I am. I met some guests that were staying at the lodge along with me, and we chatted and felt the Monteverde Rustic Lodge and Sabor Tico was a perfect combination of food and rest.

There is a soccer field outside, and on a sunny day (which is truly a gift here during the rainy season), you can watch locals of all ages put on a game. I was here during the World Cup when Costa Rica was going to put 24 years of losses to bed, so it was fun to see all the staff in their local jerseys and hats.

The wait staff is extremely pleasant and make sure to remove plates as soon as they see you are done. I also see lots of locals coming in and taking food out, so when you follow where the locals go, you know it's probably going to be good. It's a bit outside of town but a short ride here will not only give you a good meal, but a chance to see where Ticos live and go to school (one time I heard and saw the school band playing outside). And you can always walk back to town as downhill is much easier!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good food and good prices. There are two restaurants- one in town and the other on the road. Very Tico food at very good price

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Didn't have a great experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We love local food and have had so many wonderful dishes in CR...but this was not the case in our trip to Sabor Tico. Would not return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“solid tico food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Typical Costa Rican restaurant with relaxed atmoshere and reasonable prices. Just order a cassado or a hamburger with french fries, nothing fancy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Tico also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabor Tico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabor Tico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.