We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Country Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Elena
MKE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

There is so much to like about this hotel. The reception is so friendly and helpful. Very nice restaurant. Breakfast is included in the price. Nice, large rooms. Close enough to town but not that far away. Beautiful nature surroundings. I did not have problems with noise from other rooms, but the people in the room next to me said that they did. Great free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mr 000. Thank you for your review and your support, I do love how we get compliments about our staff and front desk clerks, they are doing a great job, even when sometimes we get an avalanche of guests all at the same time, not to mention the phones that won’t stop ringing all at once!!!
We are working to better our service in restaurant, as well as the food quality and specially our breakfast. Thank you for letting us know we are headed on the right way.
Our location offers the best of both worlds: Close enough yet not as busy or noisy as the places located along the main road or in town.
We are a great find for nature lovers and enthusiasts, thanks for staying with us ans we hope you come back many more times,
Happy Travels, !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    83
    53
    25
    10
See reviews for
36
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is an absolute gem of a hotel. The grounds are on the end of a secluded road within walking distance to the little town yet far enough away to feel absolutely secluded. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. Nice bathroom, showers with plenty of hot water and rice wood inlaid ceilings. Very comfortable beds.
The restaurant has delicious, well presented meals and live entertainment! The grounds are beautifully landscaped with fountains and tropical flowers.
The staff are amazing and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay memorable.
The only drawback is the lack of a pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor all open to a large veranda with rocking chairs. A central common room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Groupleader, thank you very much for your comments, your made us very proud of the results of our hard work and attention to every opportunity to become better. There’s still lots to do, yet, we are enthusiast about the energy of our staff and the positive impressions of the works we undergo in order to create a more appealing, welcoming, facility.
We still have several details to work with,, you obviously stayed at our superior rooms, located on the second floor, with high ceilings and lots of light, big bathrooms etc,,, we wish soon enough all of our rooms will be as good as our superior rooms, and guests will be pleased to stay with us regardless of the actual room they stay in.
Our sister property: Hotel Poco a Poco has swimming pool and Jacuzzi available for guests at Country Lodge, we have consider the possibility of building a swimming pool here on the grounds, but we as for the next future we have other priorities in hand.
Thank you very much. Best regards and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When I first arrived at the Monteverde Country Lodge, I was impressed. The setting is nice and somewhat isolated, at the end of a road, the courtyard area has a nice fountain. It's rustic and basic, but clean and peaceful.

My only complaint, and it is a rather large one that would cause me to consider other properties, is that the walls are very thin. I could hear conversations plainly from not only the rooms next to me, but the rooms one further down on either side. I know this because I was traveling with a group and know the people's voices in the other rooms. We were right around the courtyard, which was loud whenever people were speaking in the courtyard.

If I were to stay there again, I would ask for one of the rooms on the outskirts of the property. These are probably better and quieter.

The staff were very helpful and I loved the town of Monteverde. I felt very safe there walking around. The people in town were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Would definitely visit Monteverde again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Greetings Mrs 133, I´m very glad to found Monteverde to be a good choice during your trip to Costa Rica, the warmth of our neighbors and the friendliness of our people is also what makes Costa Rica an special travelling destination. We are working together with other colleagues and entities of the area so we can provide our guests with a safe, welcoming destination so they can emjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Thank you for your compliment about our staff and service, we are very glad you felt well attended and I´m glad we achieved a good first impression of our property, we have worked very hard to make changes, fix and remodel in order to offer more welcoming facilities.
You are right about the thin walls, this is our biggest issue and more recurrent complaint. We have been replacing walls and filling walls with isolating materials so e can stop the noise from travelling so easily from room to room.
Yet, we have to really get into work with our older section of rooms, were the situation really gets to the point you described. So far, we have isolated 4 rooms, put of 15,, and we are waiting on the season to drop, so we can really put our mind into this,,
The rest of the properties’ 45 rooms, do not have this problem,,, of course you can tell when someone is staying on the room above yours,, yet, this is not a reason to upset or disturb the guests below,, I want to be able to fix this by the end of 2014,,, before December,, thank you we are going to pay more attention to room asignements during low season so guests are not affected by next door neighbors.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I can't compliment the staff enough - everyone was incredibly helpful. The front desk people were great getting us taxi's, answering questions, and making phone calls for us. It was the best hotel service I've gotten in a very long time. Our room was clean, tidy, and comfortable. The reason for my average rating came about midnight when I was clearly able to listen to normal conversations that were occurring in the courtyard. Our room was on the upper level and was overlooking the courtyard which was a great view. I've been in rooms that had thin walls, but somehow it seemed like the sounds were amplified. People were just normally talking and it woke me from a dead sleep, and I'm a heavy sleeper. I thought there was someone either in my room or standing directly outside. When I opened the door, I saw a few people hanging out in the courtyard having a very normal, low key conversation. I also got to hear every detail of my neighbors morning romp, and I thought they were using my shower after since it was so loud in my room.

I would stay here again. The staff was really, really great. Beyond great. The room was clean, the breakfast was hot and tasted great. Staying for one night it worked well, but if I was there for three or four nights, I think being woken up by those tiny noises would have added up. If you do stay here (again, I recommend staying here) then get something outside the courtyard, they have a building that's to the left of the main one we stayed in. That way you can get all the great stuff I talked about, with a bit more quiet.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the courtyard. Get something on one of the ends of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello Steven, We can not thank you enough for your comments about our service, dedication and our staff members. This is our goal everyday: to give as much as possible and achieve great service.
You are right about the way noise travels,,, perhaps the surroundings are soooo quiet that every sound feels much louder... Perhaps,, I know we have worked with wall isolation, celling isolation, door frame isolation, etc. New rooms are made of concrete, yet, we are fiking some details in terms of first floor/ second floor noise reduction.. etc. I really thank you for putting it in such a detailed explanation, sometimes we blame the "loud guests " there are always one or two of those, yet, you have made it really clear,, its just a matter or normal conversation, motion, etc,,
We are underoing small modifications in such areas,, hope all rooms and sections will be isolated by next season.
Thanks for your comment on our breakfast, we have made small changes,, and they seem to be working...
thank you again, I´ll print your note and will forward it to our staff,,
Gracias y felices viajes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's always disappointing to walk into a room and wrinkle you nose against the smell. It wasn't obviously dirty and we couldn't locate the source. Perhaps sewage problems? Fortunately the room could be aired by opening doors to the balcony. Reasonably comfortable but fairly basic. The restaurant was OK although the menu was limited. One morning was a buffet breakfast which was lamentable otherwise a la carte which was adequate. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Greetings Mr Jhon.
Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about this situation, we were not aware of a swage smell or similar, perhaps it was a problem with moisture in the room, or something similar.
Thank you for mentioning that the room was indeed clean, yet, I apologize for the bad experience. Thank you for having the patience of letting the room air a little by opening doors and windows. I appreciate your understanding, I want to stress that we could have switch you to another room if you had requested the change. We cater to provide the best service possible, I know problems happen all the time, but it’s a matter of taking the right corrective actions.
Our hotel offers basic but comfortable facilities and we are working on the breakfast fare, a la carte breakfast only available when occupancy is low…
On behalf of our staff: muchas gracias!!! Es un gusto servirles!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

we stayed here on a B&B basis for 2 nights the room was basic, clean with coffee making facilities, no fridge, the bed was comfortable, we stayed here so that we could do the Sky Tram & Sky Walk & we did a tour of EL Trapiche farm. The negative points was that the hotel was set in lovely gardens with a nice play area for children but no sun loungers which would have been nice to relax on as we arrived with a few hours to spare before being picked up to be taken to EL Trapiche Farm. There was not enough time to get to their sister hotel Poco a Poco & back before we were being picked up. Hotel Poco a Poco the sister hotel was a short taxi ride away, this hotel was set in lovely gardens, the pool it said was an indoor, this is not an indoor pool you would have in the UK the pool just had a shelter over the top so you can enjoy the pleasure of the pool if it’s raining & still sit outside if you want.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Greetings Mrs Tracey.
Thank you for your comments, I’m very glad you enjoyed your time spent in Monteverde, the tours you took are among some of the best in the area.
Our rooms are indeed basic, yet they offer a warm ambience and Mountain style comfort. We have incorporated more and more pick nick tables, chairs and coffee tables, chairs by the balconies and corridors and other areas of the garden and hotel where guests can enjoy a relaxed time when they finish tours of while they enjoy a quiet time during their stay. I do believe we have enough places to sit and enjoy, yet, you are right, no actual lounge chairs available.
Our sister property is there to welcome our guests at Country Lodge: heated pool, Jacuzzi, kids play house, spa, excellent restaurant etc. I´m glad you took the time to visita and enjoy, this is our biggest comparative advantage, we can offer our guests a lot of added values for a very reasonable rate.
Thanks for explaining the proper terms to refer or describe our pool, I was afraid you did not enjoy it, i´m very glad you did.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Monteverde was our first stop of the 8 night trip to Costa Rica. Our group of 11 reserved 3 rooms. We hired a van to take us to the hotel from the airport and it took our driver at least a half an hour to find the hotel. For some reason the hotel is not on some of the Santa Elena maps and the driver confused it with the Monteverde Gardens Lodge. I gave the overall 4 stars because I specifically chose and reserved 3 rooms through Hotels.com with one double and 2 single beds each and then confirmed with the hotel via email and was promised roll away beds, we were given 3 rooms with 2 double beds each on arrival. We were told they could not give us roll away beds. The beds in our rooms were more like king size beds, so we all were able to fit just fine. We had a corner room #73, right on the way to the restaurant and the office and it was pretty noisy from the wind and from other hotel guests passing by. We spent most of our time hiking and were so tired at night so that didn't bother us much. If you are planning to spend more time at the hotel ask for ether a second floor room or at the part of the hotel that is further away from the restaurant.
Were didn't have time to use either a pool or a restaurant at Poco a Poco - the sister property, as we spent mornings and afternoons hiking and it was too cold and windy to go there in the evenings. The breakfast was included and we thought it was very good, served in a hotel's restaurant. It included fruits (papaya, pineapple), orange juice, cheese, fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, some kind of sausage we didn't try, rice and beans, jams, breads, coffee and/or tea.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Mrs J, thank you for your review, I´m sorry the driver had a hard time finding our lodge, we do have a sing at the main intersection and are posted in most of the Maps of Santa Elena, guests of drivers usually give us a call and we can point them on the right direction.
I´m sorry we had a misunderstanding with the number of beds per room, some booking companies do not specify very well, we did check on the number of people per room and thought we had enough space.
Room number 73 is a corner room on the way to the restaurant, yet, not close to the actual restaurant and even if people walk by, it is not bad.
I´m glad to enjoyed breakfast, we do offer quite a fare but somehow, some people find it still poor.
Thank you for your comments, It´s great to know you did get a good feel of Monteverde and its Cloud Forest. Thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#12 of 22 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 8 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.