We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Country Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were a family of six (my wife, three kids 13, 17, 21 and my daughter's boyfriend), we got the the hotel after a very wiry day of long travels. We got two rooms on the parking and on the road. the rooms were very small, we couldn't pack all four kids together, so my youngest moved in with us. We didn't had the energy to argue with reception on rooms that night, but the day after after long explanations we were told (around noon) we could move the kids to a much larger room in a much better location. This room was with separate bedrooms and so much more adequate. My wife and I stayed in the road/parking room for the second night as well.
The appearance of the good rooms and inner areas of the hotel are much more appealing and I guess I would have a much better review if we were getting those in the first place.
Breakfast is OK-, not much of a selection.
I did saw an armadillo near the room at night, so that was great...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Gev, thank you for your review on Monteverde Country Lodge. We do have two different types of rooms, yet, they both should be comfortable and suitable for families traveling together, despite the fact that your kids are full grown already.
I want to reffer to the "near the road" rooms: our hotel neighboors the road on three out of four sides, nevertheles, this road has indeed very few traffic, pretty much guests arriving or departing from our premises. I understand how you could feel dissapointed at first impression, yet,, I´m sure the noise from traffic was not a problem. The same applies to our parking, and by the way,it is far enough from rooms on the back of the propperty.
This fact should not negatively affect your stay. I´m glad we were able to relocate your kids onto a bigger room, thank you for your comments and we´ll try to accomodate our guests needs from the first moment.
There´s always a lot of wildlife around the lodge, armadillos, porcupines, raccons, agutis, birds etc.. I´m glad you got to enjoy that!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    36
    21
    6
See reviews for
26
59
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not so crowded, excellent customer service and facilities. Very good food with live music and outstanding mountain weather. Cosy rooms and ecological practices.
Close to Santa Elena downtown, super market and medical services.
Quite and peaceful gardens, but 10 minutes from zip line and other mountain adventures.
Great value for the price in this season.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Jairux,. Thank you very much for your review and good comments about our hotel. We are very glad you felt welcomed and well treated, we are trying our best to provide the best service and attention to our guests. I´m glad you enjoyed our facilities, we cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains, lounge areas etc,,,
We are very close to supermarkets, local restaurants, tours and forest areas.
We love to have Costar Ricans stay with us and enjoy the beauties of the cloud forest,, thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The check-in process was OK until we were told that we had to wait for a carrier to take our bags to our room, which was maybe 15 feet behind the checkout desk. That was odd as we were in a hurry and it would have been nice to be told our room was 15 min away. The room itself in in a courtyard-like area on the 1st floor, across from a fountain and by the entrance to the dining room. The dinner we had there was so so compared with the rest of food in Costa Rica and the staff was baffled when we asked for iced coffee, even had to bring a translator in, which they proceeded to invent and it was absolutely awful, but we didnt say anything as the staff truly tried to accommodate our request.

Since the room is on the first floor and there's quite large holes under the door, we hear everything. Every suitcase being carried, the loud water fountain and because of the location, we constantly had spiders in our room. Now, we understand that Costa Rica has amazing nature and bugs, but this is the ONLY place that had loads of them in the actual room. At night when I was awaken by all the noise I spotted a large black spider on the wall, and as I'm terrified of them, i was not able to sleep again. The staff got started in the kitchen across the yard about 5AM and were incredibly loud with basic conversation and just overall preparation noises.

Then, a cockroach casually walked in around 7AM as we were laving for breakfast. It gets worse though, the showers are OK but there is nothing except one kind of weird pink soap. There is no shampoo or conditioner or body wash. Nothing. Its quite a sad experience to have when on vacation after a long trip where you just want to take a nice shower and relax. I think we would have been better off in a hostel. This was the only awful experience I had in Costa Rica, myself and my friend did not get any sleep in the dirty spider filled noisy room and it felt like we were being punished for being there.

Room Tip: DO NOT allow them to put you in a room on the first floor by the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Mrs Lana. It sure sounds like you were at the wrong kind of establishment for your own taste and expectations. Nothing really worked for you while you stayed with us. Please, next time this happens to you say something to somebody and have them find you a better, more suitable hotel somewhere else. We´d done it before, I accept there have been cases where guests have requested a switch in rooms, ( we have 60 rooms!!! We could have found you a better choice within the property, or maybe at our sister property Hotel Poco a Poco. And if none of these options had worked for you, you could have moved to another hotel more suitable, I guarantee you, under these circumstances we would have offer you a full refund.
We are working on all of these details and situations, you clearly have a point regarding weak spots on our operation and facilities. We are very much aware of all of these problems, yet, we know we have a good hotel, great staff and good value for our services.
I´m sorry you were not happy with your choice for hotel in Monteverde. Too bad we only heard of this trough Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed by the friendly and hard working staff, as well as the cleanliness. A delicious breakfast is included and we ate both lunch and dinner there on different days. The arroz con pollo was amazing! The musician played traditional music as well as American and was quite talented. The juice upon arrival was a nice touch and the staff was polite and helpful. There are many restaurants within walking distance, but town is a steep 1 mile down hill walk away, so I would recommend the $4 taxi. Even with a large EF group staying there with us, it was never too loud (bar closes at 10pm!). I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Mr Yankee. What a nice review, thank you very much. It really shows you enjoyed your time spent with us and our services. We cater for the best service possible and good quality within our means.
Home style, warm, personalized attention and good quality are our strengths, yet we are also aware of all the fixing that needs to be done. In the overall perception of our guests, we deliver a good experience and thanks to you we can perceive we are doing things right.
Our food is very good, local ingredients and local touch, Live music performed every night by our musicians, we provide a great ambience and reasonable prices. We do recommend to hire a taxi to get into town, nevertheless, there are other options of restaurants and shops just a couple of blocks away.
Monteverde Country Lodge is a great choice of hotel and we are very glad you enjoyed it!! Thanks,
Happy travels.
All the staff at Monteverde Country Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room was not very big but very clean and comfortable. I was worried because I read in reviews people complaining about the noise but we didn't have neighbors next door so it was very quiet. The food was good but the same breakfast every morning. The staff was absolutely lovely and helpful. The only problem is the location. The road is bad, hilly, very dusty and unpleasant to walk to town.

Room Tip: If possible, try not to have neighbors next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Jojo, thank you for your review, I´m glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Country Lodge, our rooms aren’t very big but they are very comfortable even though a bit basic. I´m glad you had a quiet, relaxed time with us, and thanks on behalf of all our staff. We are trying our best to be accommodating, personal and outgoing with our clients. Thank you for your review.
Our hotel is not on the main road, yet, it’s only a couple of blocks away from the paved/main road. Lots of attractions nearby and taxis are very reasonable.
Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaplin, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Small but clean rooms (hard beds though). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast & lunch were good - typical fare, rice & beans served all the time, but epic fail at dinner on the first night with thin pork chops cooked into hockey pucks. Power went out for about 3 hours one afternoon and hot water in the shower was iffy. Close to attractions. Traveled with an EF group of high school students.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello, Deb.
Thank you for your review.
Student groups are always welcome even despite the fact that sometimes other guests are not so happy about having kids staying at the same hotel, we have worked with EF and other student companies and our hotel has always ranked very high. I´m sorry for the chops sittuation; we try our best to acomodate the best fare of meals accordingly to tge budgets, it is always hard to please everyone.
I´m glad the gorup enjoyed our hotel and thanks for the feed back.
Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely staff, nice rooms, big bathroom, good food, did some good trips as well. Lots of places to eat close by as well. Nice grounds to sit out in, and a lovely little courtyard to have a coffee. Restaurant very good , all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mrs Oshea,.
Thank you for such a nice review, down to the facts and simple. Thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge for your stay in Monteverde.
I´m very glad you enjoyed your stay, tours, restaurants, food, etc, these are the things that really matter, to be able to enjoy a destination by experiencing what it has to offer, we try to be a good / reasonably priced, complement for visitors. Despite the fact that we offer basic accommodations, and some of walls are thin, we try of best to provide great service and comfortable amenities.
Thank you very much. I hope you were also able to enjoy our live music everynight at dinner, or perhaps the pool and Jacuzzi at our sister property down the road.
We have a lot to offer, I´m glad you had a good time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco´s fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980´s. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room’s amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest’s enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.