We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our least favorite of the whole trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our least favorite of the whole trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

OK, it's clean. Nice grounds -- kids really loved the playground and I loved the fact that the surrounding trees were full of parrots/parakeets. Breakfast ok. I guess the problem was, it is a place for big groups of people and we happened to be there when at least two big groups of American teenagers were running amuck. No respect for the lawn, the gardens - everything was a playground to them.
It wasn't convenient to anything -- we had to take taxis everywhere -- about $3 to go into town.
Light was out over shower - I requested repair but it never was fixed.
It WAS Nice that there were tables and chairs in front of the rooms.
This is a place for mass consumption.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
22
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while traveling with an EF tour. The rooms are small - totally adequate as we were out from sun-up to sundown. The only drawback that we could find to the rooms were the walls are quite thin and you can hear your neighbors quite easily. We were served delicious meals in the dining room and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is a beautiful area close enough to the town of Santa Elena that you can walk into town. There are attractions and a few eateries close by - another nice walk from the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only stayed here one night but the room was very nice- very basic but big and clean. They need to put aa small table and chairs in the room but other than that, it was perfect. The restaurant that is attached is great. Authentic Costa Rican food. it's a little removed from town so I'm not sure I would stay here again for that reason.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windwardside, Saba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

That's all I could say when we arrived at this hotel, very modern super clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with arranging excursions. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel. Is only a short walk to town and a $3.00 taxi ride back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazú, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful cozy place! from the moment you arrive you start feeling the warm personality of the hotel staff, they are always ready to help and make your stay a most confortable one.

There is live music in the dinning room, the stage is located in a corner and may be a little too tight but yet it is a great value when you have dinner and a singer/guitarist plays some background music. Great place, great people and great atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I traveled here with a group of students and the staff was super nice. They made a special soup for two of my students who weren't feeling well. The rooms are decent for Monteverde. There is nice tile floor and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a lovely welcome in arrival and a welcome drink. Our room was okay , clean which is the most important thing -but the walls were paper thin and it felt like the people in the next room were actually in the same room.
The lodge lacked atmosphere - there was a restaurant - we had a meal there but the service was impersonal and the food was average. I would not stay here again. The sister hotel had more facilities but was a taxi ride away or a longish walk, but as we were only there for two nights we did not experience this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco´s fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980´s. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room’s amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest’s enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.