We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fun for the Whole Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour

Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour
Calle Central, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645-6058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Fun for the Whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here for our son's 8th birthday and all had a great time. After a discussion of how to zip line and a safety talk, you're off on your first cable. Our group of 20 or so folks went through smoothly and quickly. There was never much of a wait at each of the platforms, just enough time to share excitement with each other. The guides were quick with a smile and easy to talk to. Our kids, ages 8 & 10, were having the time of their life and were able to do some cables by themselves and some with us. The Tarzan Swing was the highlight for all of us - scary yes, but such a great feeling when you get going. The final cable has a "Super Man" option - highly recommended if you have ever desired the sensation of flying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Zip Lining was awesome. We had so much fun, it is intimidating at first but too much fun to turn down! The staff where great. I cant wait to return!

:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMainIngredient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you are in Costa Rica, you must do this tour!

Was I scared? Absolutely, but that's half the fun. Extremo allows you do zip superman style and has a Tarzan swing. The most scary part of the superman zip was getting set up and being put face down. After take off, its really not that bad. Its actually the most beautiful part of the tour. The Tarzan swing is another story. It was scary before getting to it. It was scary when I had to walk on the bridge to get to it. It was even scarier when I had to jump off of it. Oh mine, I was scare shitless but I'm glad I didn't chicken out.

I'm glad they push you off of the Tarzan swing. God knows, it would have taken me hours to make that jump myself.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best zipline ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I´ve done ziplines before which were a real snooze and about as exciting as a wet weekend in Palmerston North (sorry Palmie). El Extremo is different. Huge long ziplines up to a km long and up to 180m above the valley floor, plus a Tarzan swing. Shouldn´t think I´ll ever need to do another zipline ever.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James-the-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zip lining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had never been zip lining before. I thought i would only be doing a short distance. i was surprised and amazed. there were8 zip lines. the view was outstanding. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing