We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour

Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour
Calle Central, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645-6058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Zip Lining was awesome. We had so much fun, it is intimidating at first but too much fun to turn down! The staff where great. I cant wait to return!

:)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    38
    11
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you are in Costa Rica, you must do this tour!

Was I scared? Absolutely, but that's half the fun. Extremo allows you do zip superman style and has a Tarzan swing. The most scary part of the superman zip was getting set up and being put face down. After take off, its really not that bad. Its actually the most beautiful part of the tour. The Tarzan swing is another story. It was scary before getting to it. It was scary when I had to walk on the bridge to get to it. It was even scarier when I had to jump off of it. Oh mine, I was scare shitless but I'm glad I didn't chicken out.

I'm glad they push you off of the Tarzan swing. God knows, it would have taken me hours to make that jump myself.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best zipline ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I´ve done ziplines before which were a real snooze and about as exciting as a wet weekend in Palmerston North (sorry Palmie). El Extremo is different. Huge long ziplines up to a km long and up to 180m above the valley floor, plus a Tarzan swing. Shouldn´t think I´ll ever need to do another zipline ever.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zip lining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had never been zip lining before. I thought i would only be doing a short distance. i was surprised and amazed. there were8 zip lines. the view was outstanding. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Zipline I've Ever Been To”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've now been ziplining 5 times - 4 in Costa Rica and once in Guatemala. While exhilarating, they all offer about the same thing - the ability to fly through the air at high speed over long distances. Extremo offers that, but it is much more. We got to go on a Tarzan Swing - where you drop straight down and swing out - my favorite part of the tour. We also went on a rappel drop - falling straight down. While they say their top priority is safety (and I don't doubt them), the experience was a ton of fun.

I followed up my zipline tour with a bungee jump - a definite must for those of you looking for a little more. I'd never done it before and it was so much fun I made them let me do it twice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Extremo Canopy Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.