We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carambola Cafe Art - CLOSED

La Carambola Cafe Art
calle Principal, 300 mts oeste de Super Compro | 300 mts de Super Compro, pasando el Mundo de Insectos, Santa Elena -----, Costa Rica
85384425
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Milano
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Went to Carambola with my mum and had the chilcken Thai pitta and the Indian pitta. Both nice but the Indian pitta was HOT! Lots and lots of chilli, I had to ask for yougurt on the side!
Very friendly staff and the food is all freshly prepared and seems very healthy. The pitta breads themselves are amazing! Quite cheap too.

It was a little tricky for us to find the restaurant as it's down a quiet street away from the town centre. If you can find Soda La Amistad, just keep going in the direction away from Super Compro.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    27
    8
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We absolutely loved this place! We were in Monteverde for 3 nights and once we discovered La Carambola we dined here several times (f.y.i don't go to the restaurant with the tree in the middle of it, that place is awful! Come here instead!). Their pitas are awesome as well as their natural fruit shakes. All of their food is local grown and fresh. The fish was amazing as well. I really could go on about the food but I should comment on the ambiance too. Our dining in the evenings was met with dim lighting, soothing quiet and zero hustle and bustle. Perfect for vacation! There is a fire pit outside that is lit up during special events if weather permits. We didn't get to see it unfortunately, but the owner told us that local bands sometimes perform there. This is a great honest place, unpretentious, warm and inviting and GREAT food! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Intimate setting; great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

La Carambola Cafe was recommended by our hosts at Monteverde Village Lodge. The atmosphere is warm and caring; the food was excellent. Susana was a great host; the patio provided a great view of the setting sun.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cute place with fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very cute place that uses fresh produce to make delicious pitas. Good for when you want a change from comida tica!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntarenas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice location, affordable, great pitas and salads! outside tables, place to chill!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carambola Cafe Art also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carambola Cafe Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.