We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst backpacking around Costa Rica with my 3 children (21,17 and 14).
Yorle and her sister a welcoming hosts. They will sort out any trips or transfers you want. Be warned most need cash not credit cards.
The place is spotless, the beds comfortable and rooms have fridges.
Breakfast is fantastic. Yorle is the queen of pancakes and the fruit scrambled eggs and bacon also went down a treat!
I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    72
    12
    16
    11
See reviews for
8
73
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Sloth backpackers is a great optiom to stay in the st elena/monteverdr area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a flat screen tv with usb connection, and large refrigirator available in the room. In the room there is a handy clothing rack to put clothes, shoes and other stuff on (which you often miss while travelling in CR). Free wifi is provided. We could park the rental car across the street. The hostel itself is really cute, with little lights hanging on the porches and balconies and outside seating areas. Althoug shoes and floors get muddy from hiking the forest, they dailey clean the floors of the rooms and the hallways.

Breakfast is included, and verry nice as its all fresh and they change it up a bit every day. A full equiped kitchen (which is clean!) is availble and there is also a laundry service.

The location is ideal, because you are 10 min away from the cloud forrest, but in the center of the little village so you have shop and dine options. You can see sloths in the trees near the village.

Yorle is a cool and friendley chick. Verry helpfull. Love her. The tours the hotel provides are really great. We did the cloud forest and the night tour throug them and they were superb.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great hotel and very cheap ($40 per night) We stayed here for 2 nights.
Yorle, the hostess was very nice and helped us to do a very cool night walk with Kinkajou tours. Breakfast is included in the price and was also quite delicious.
Go here when you're in monteverde!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Sloth B&B is a great place to stay, quiet and close to town and bus stops. Yorle is friendly and helpful with organising things to do and see. Yorle puts so much effort into making her B&B comfortable, the room was spacious with a fridge, tv and wifi and an immaculate bathroom. The bed was made for us daily! Sheets and towels changed after two nights was also a pleasant surprise. And the famous breakfast was great! Fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes and coffee was perfect for days of exploring. The kitchen facilities were really clean. Nice patio with flowers and hammock chairs too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel is run by lovely owner - Yorle. Location - well the town is so small that every hotel there is in good location.lol Place is spotless and decorated with hand made ornaments, which are lovely and give this place the homely feel. Breakfast was amazing -the best so far during my trip all over Costa Rica! Hotel offers free tea and coffee all they long! Yorle will help you with organising trips, and your further journey. Felt like visiting relatives rather than staying in the hotel. Only regret that I didn't stay there a bit longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at sloth backpackers. The dorm was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was filling, though I have never seen eggs cooked in so much oil. The coffee was great but as with everywhere in Central America i am missing real milk or cream... The main thing this hostel is missing is a place for guests to hang out, read, etc. The hammock chairs on the driveway are not that inviting. The owner Yorle is lovely and very helpful with tour bookings, recommendations, etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was really disappointed by this hostel, the 'free' breakfast you have to pay extra for and the lady was very rude and unhelpful. The dog is cute and the hammocks are nice but my god the worst night sleep ever! It sounds as if you are on a highway, it's so loud and the lady was outside our room speaking loudly in Spanish until 2am. The beds were like sleeping on wooden planks, so uncomfortable and very 'cosy'. There are definitely better places to stay in Monteverde!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 8 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
#9 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#10 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#6 of 25 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.