We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay With Sloth Backpackers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
“Stay With Sloth Backpackers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yorle is the nicest host - ever! Sloth is clean, friendly, and close to everything. Diego, Yorle's brother, knows his stuff about Monteverde and will go out with you at night. Definitely stay here if you want a place that can hook you up with everything.

Room Tip: I stayed in 14 - it was perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    72
    11
    16
    11
See reviews for
8
73
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sloth Backpackers was one of our favorite hostels that we stayed in while traveling through Costa Rica. We found, the best hostels to be the ones where the owner opens up her home to guests. We ended up staying three nights there! The hostel offers so many different tours, shuttles, and things to do while visiting the town. I recommend doing what you can! It's worth the money, and you discover things you've never seen before. We enjoyed the zip lining, coffee, chocolate, sugar cane tour, and 'Jeep-Boat-Jeep" tour, which was a shuttle from the hostel to Arenal Lake, ferry across the lake, and a shuttle to La Fortuna. Fun, and great way to see the country. Of course the night life was awesome! We frequented Bar Amigos and another bar, where we met fun locals who loved to dance and have fun. One night there was a live band, that played great music. The town folk we amazing dancers, I believe some of the dances taught to me were, The Machata and Salsa. Anyway, the hostel offered many things to do, and very comforting to come back to the room at anytime. In the mornings, the owner cooked us banana pancakes with fresh tropical fruit. So delicious. I had a great time, and will return another day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were lured into this hostel by the name (I am a HUGE sloth fan), and although the namesake of the hostel didn't make an appearance for us, it was well worth the stay. The owner/workers in the hostel are amazing, friendly, down-to-earth people, and it is clear that they work very hard to maintain their business. They obviously enjoy what they do, and they make it clear by their interaction with the guests; one of the owners' friends took my boyfriend and me to see (and climb!) a hollow tree in the forest. It went down as one of THE best experiences I've had in Costa Rica, and because it was located in the middle of the forest, where only natives or lucky explorers might find it, I know we would never have seen it if not for the kindness of the people at the hostel.

The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, with lots of information on what to do in Monteverde. As someone who lived in Costa Rica for a year and stayed at my fair share of hostels there and in Panama and Nicaragua, I have seen bad and good hostels, and Sloth Backpackers was one of the good ones. It is pretty small compared to some of the other hostels, but if you're looking to just make it a place to sleep and relax in the middle of your adventures (no pool or anything like that, but you're in Monteverde; go explore nature!), it's the place to be.

Another perk of the hostel is that it's a bit "off the beaten path"; we never would have found it if we hadn't come across the owner at the bus stop when we arrived in Monteverde. Some taxi drivers will say that the area is dangerous, and it might appear so because of the lack of lighting and natural surroundings, but it's really, really not. Actually, we found it to be very peaceful (which is just what we needed after so many months at a time in San Jose). The taxi drivers apparently get commission from other hostels for bringing guests, so they try to steer them away from SBP. It's just a short walk from town, maybe five minutes, but it's set back far enough that you don't get any of the noise from party-goers late at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Sloth backpackers is one of the many hotels you can stay during your visit in Santa Elena.
It's only 2 minutes from the downtown though bit steep walk.
Otherwise the owner is very nice lady and she provides a map and full information about both places Santa Elena and Monteverde.
The hostel itself is very cosy, nice and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Santa Elena is a small town, so anywhere you stay you'll probably be close to town center. Sloth back packers is no different - just a 2 minute walk to town center. It's on a steep slope, so if you are old or handicapped, not a good place. The atmosphere is nice and the owner and her niece are both warm and friendly. They helped me book tourist attractions at reasonable rates and gave me a nice room to myself for $20, which I think is a good price. I was annoyed that you had to rent a towel for $1, but whatever. The owner is very hardworking- she has her own hostel, her own nail salon (which she sometimes does in the hostel), and her own coffee plantation!! The main lobby has a kitchen which you are free to use, and apparently there is free breakfast although I didn't get to try it. Free WiFi. Tempur-Pedic beds. They watched my bags after check out until I left Santa Elena.

Room Tip: Since it's a little off the main strip, its quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and friends stayed in this hostel for three nights (August 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The dorms are basic but perfectly adequate and extremely clean. There is a fully equipped kitchen with gas stove and the use of plenty of pots/pans. Free use of internet. The lady who runs it was extremely friendly to us and helped organise all of our tours- she really went out of her way to look after us. She also makes nice breakfasts for all the guests in the morning. This hostel is superb value for money and we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs looked better than ones upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is clean and ok BUT the lady in charge is not really a person that you can call nice. She was really pissed of at us from the beginning. The rules are really strict and we missed a common room. The kithen (wich is th common room) close at 9:30pm. Internet is limited at 30 minutes. We didn't found the price for the smile. And to finish, the decoration is really nice for my grandMother. And it's the same place as other places in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
#10 of 26 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.