We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, central location, friendly helpful staff, fantastic stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Hostel Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Hostel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus Station, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Clean, quiet, central location, friendly helpful staff, fantastic stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Clean, quiet, central location, friendly + helpful staff, fantastic stay. Excellent wifi signal in rooms, fully equipped clean kitchen, all activities can be organised through the hostel.

- Shaun (Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
30
67
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cosa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is located very near the town. Very nice place. The cabins fit in the forest. In the night there could be some noise from a bar nearby. The breakfast is fruits, bread and eggs. The cabins are made of wood.

Room Tip: Don't be sacry. Yes, there is hot water, but maybe you will have to wait before the waters start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is situated in the center of Monteverde and is a perfect starting point for your trips but also nice to relax as Monteverde and Santa Elena offer a great variety of unbelievably beautiful nature and outdoor leisure. The rooms are clean, offer basic equipment and facilites but everything you need. The price-performance ratio is very good, so you can save up money without abstaining from comfort. I especially enjoyed that you could take really hot showers after all-day long adventure trips, as the temperatures in Monteverde can drop in July. Breakfast was rich, and the pancakes were delicious!
What makes this hotel so extraordinary is the warm-hearted and friendly personal, who gave us a lot ot tips to choose the best excursions and helped us to organize our further voyage. Thanks a lot to Bryan and Ewan. If we go there again, Hotel Oasis will be our choice for sure!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryhanner r, Director de Recepción at Monteverde Hostel Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
was a pleasure to help and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed in Santa Elena for two nights at the Hotel Oasis. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They booked all my adventures. Shuttle service came to the hotel for all the activities I participated in. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

One good thing about this place is the location near the town. The gardens are beautiful. My room was at the top of the hill. If you have physical issues make sure you stay in a room near the reception office. The path can be very slippery when it rains and it's very dark at night. Fortunately, I had my flashlight.

My bathroom was nice. I was able to take a long relaxing bath.

The waiter at breakfast was nice. He always filled my cup of coffee.

The internet did not work throughout the stay. One of the workers was on the computer using Facebook and asked if I could use the computer quickly. She said, "No, there is no Internet." She is also the same girl who just stared at me and said "What!" when I checked in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureGirl2009
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If location in town is your priority this is one to consider. There are not many places to stay right in town. I did not stay here, but noted the hotels in the town for the next trip. I stayed outside town a bit at El Establo (which is beautiful) but I like the idea of being right in town especially to go out for dinner, get groceries, etc.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

All night long motorcycles tore through the street - I hardly slept that night. The staff was quite pushy about activities. Also, I booked the room for $20 on hostelbookers, but when I got there, they made me pay $25.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Hostel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Address: Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus Station, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Hostel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis located in the main street of Santa Elena Center, visit us and check our rooms and rates, we offer you:- Rooms with private bath and hot water- First, second and third floor- Wifi in the rooms- Breakfast included - Communal kitchen- Tour desk- 10% discount for extremos canopy ( only for our guests )We offer you, too:Canopy Extremo ( tour by the cables, tarzan swing, rappel and the superman),Bungee jumping, big tarzan swing,Hanging bridges, night walking, coffee tour, horseback riding, water fall, ATV, and many others tour of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Hostel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Hostel Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Hostel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.