We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Hostel Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Hostel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus Station, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)   |  
Hotel amenities
AdventureGirl2009
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Right in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If location in town is your priority this is one to consider. There are not many places to stay right in town. I did not stay here, but noted the hotels in the town for the next trip. I stayed outside town a bit at El Establo (which is beautiful) but I like the idea of being right in town especially to go out for dinner, get groceries, etc.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    53
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
30
65
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

All night long motorcycles tore through the street - I hardly slept that night. The staff was quite pushy about activities. Also, I booked the room for $20 on hostelbookers, but when I got there, they made me pay $25.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in one of the "lower"/in the forest cabinas over the busy Semana Santa. The cabins are very simple but (wood paneling included) appropriate to the forest location. Conveniently located, the Wi-Fi worked well, and the staff were very helpful. However, there was some noise at times from a bar on the same street, and from people walking past my window (which causes the cabina to shake).

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Ficus in the Woods in March 2012 and were pleased with everything. We agree that the staff were most friendly and helpful, especially Marcela. Their enthusiasm for Costa Rica was infectious. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable and even gave us food to feed to the monkeys. We stayed in a duplex cabin in the woods which gave us the feeling of living in the trees. It had a loft, a wonderful balcony that encouraged one to sit and enjoy the wildlife in the trees, a large bathroom with a tub/shower as well as a walk-in shower, TV, minifridge, coffee and tea, and everything we needed. The rustic feel was very appealing and appropriate for those wanting to enjoy the nature of Costa Rica. The location was perfect as St. Elena was just a short walk away with cafes, shops, and restaurants. The walkways to the cabin were well-lit and the area beautifully landscaped. We enjoyed taking the trails through the woods on the property and saw a beautiful Blue Morpho butterfly as well as birds and monkeys. The only sounds we heard at night were the sounds of the forest, which made for great sleeping. The pina coladas in the restaurant/bar were the best! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela A, Owner at Monteverde Hostel Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Nancy,

Thank you very much for such beautiful comment! We were very happy having you with us.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Kindest Regards from your friends in Hotel Finca Valverde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Finca Valverde in March 2012 and enjoyed everything about the hotel. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful, the grounds are beautiful and full of wildlife (including monkeys and sloths) and the rooms (duplex cabins that sleep 4 comfortably) are clean. The hotel also has a great location with just a short walk to the village and good restaurants and shopping. It is also just a short drive to many of the nearby attractions. In our 9 day journey through Costa Rica (4 different hotels), this was our favorite place. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins that was a short hike from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The young staff made us very welcome and helped carry our luggage up the path through the old forest to our cabin. It had a nice front deck looking out at the many trees plants and birds.
You are in lovely quiet cloud forest but the little town of St. Elena is just a short walk away with many restaurants, We discovered a small place up the hill from town called Soda La Salvadita that had a wonderful fresh fish covered with avocado for $7.00.

Room Tip: The paths from the main lodge can be steep, so if you have any walking difficulty, ask for a cabin a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The resort has changed its name from Hotel Finca Valverde to Ficus Inside Forest and Sunset Suites. The Inside Forest accommodations are small duplex cabins and one bungalow type building with multiple rooms. These accommodations are truly in the forest, they are the original hotel and the rooms are old. The Sunset Suites are above on the hillside. They are new with a nice view (all of the trees have been cleared) but you feel you are much more in the city, as much as Santa Elena is a city.

We stayed in the forest. The rooms are nice enough. They are old, the walls are paper thin. So thin we learned our first set of neighbors were getting a divorce as soon as they got back home. The second group of young girls had plenty to say about the other people in their tour group, not the most relaxing of situations. We did have an issue with hot water, you had to get the tap just right to keep the hot water flowing during a shower, hard to explain but there was a trick to it.

The grounds were forested and the new name would suggest, we saw plenty of birds and monkeys on the grounds. The restaurant is adequate, the bar fine, and there are 3 computers for Internet access should you need it. The best part is the location, within walking distance of everything Santa Elena. We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating, we enjoyed the service.

We did have the opportunity to see other hotels on the same hillside; some appeared to have grounds just as pleasant. My suggestion, do some research. While the Finca accommodations were adequate, and we did get a good price, if I were to return I would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the Sunset Suites, Older rooms but in a quainter setting are the Inside Forrest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Hostel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Address: Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus Station, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Hostel Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis located in the main street of Santa Elena Center, visit us and check our rooms and rates, we offer you:- Rooms with private bath and hot water- First, second and third floor- Wifi in the rooms- Breakfast included - Communal kitchen- Tour desk- 10% discount for extremos canopy ( only for our guests )We offer you, too:Canopy Extremo ( tour by the cables, tarzan swing, rappel and the superman),Bungee jumping, big tarzan swing,Hanging bridges, night walking, coffee tour, horseback riding, water fall, ATV, and many others tour of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Monteverde Hostel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Hostel Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Hostel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.