We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Hostel Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Monteverde Hostel Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus sSation, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Monteverde
1 review
“very welcoming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here very much: helpfull and friendly staff, nice room, very clean... The people here helped me with organizing everything I wanted to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    44
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
28
56
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

we been in Oasis Hotel for two nights and we enjoyed a lot, this is a very confortable hotel located in the main street of the town of Santa Elena Monteverde, just one block from the bus station, form the bank, ATM and supermarket. The rooms are very clean with three floors, they have a restaurant services called ^ Donde Henrrys^ and the food is very delicious. They are the owners of the Extremos canopy and they offer 10% discount just for the Guests of the hotel, and they offer communal kitchen and loundry services, the staff are very helpfull and friendlly and they organize all ours activities in Monteverde, Thanks guys for everythings

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

So this hotel is trying, it really is and it's fair to say there are a few things which need to be ironed out. However, none of them should ruin your stay and I would thoroughly recommend booking - provided you ask for a sunshine suites. They are massive and have the most amazing views over the Nicoya Penninsula. We arrived to be told our room was not ready....4hrs later it was well worth the wait. We could have taken a room lower down but opted to enjoy the free tequila and cocktails 'Alexandro' offered us to take the pain away from the wait. Wow - and what a view it is. Be prepared to wait for a lift for your luggage (especially coming back down), don't get excited about the breakfast and be assured they are trying to work out the hot water issue.
It's in a great location, a 3 min walk into town, lovely rooms, great views and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Sunshine suites all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My is almost ditto to Ashtep's, we stayed in the new suites which are gorgeous. The staff is awesome, all bilingual and very helpful. The computer screwed up our rates upon checkout but the receptionist was very cool about it and did not make any sort of fuss, just called the manager to fix it so she could complete checkout. The free continental breakfast was more than plenty; they will give you eggs on top of the mounds of fruit and bread if you ask. Just a couple of hairs to split; the suites aren't actually suites; they have a bedroom and a bath, not a living area or kitchen type arrangement which is what a suite by definition is. No biggie but they advertise a mini-fridge and our room didn't have one. By the time we got to Monteverde/Santa Elena we were in the habit of carrying around some of the country's excellent cheese and beer with us so a mini-fridge would have been nice. Also, we had to really fiddle with the hot water in the shower; it was just barely tolerable warm until we figured out to slow the speed of the water coming out of the pipes to about half. Then it was steamy hot. There is some sort of workshop next to the property and the workers were banging on metal until late in the night. We were able to tune it out but we definitely rolled our eyes at the noise more than once. ;) Never ate at the new Peruvian Restaurant as frankly, by the time we got to Santa Elena towards the end of our two weeks there; we were a little tired of the overpriced restaurants that are popping up all over the country... the menu sounded delish, however!

Overall, highly recommend - do haggle on the price - we did and it was worthwhile... we would stay again checking out the forest suites next time given the option. They looked adorable.

Room Tip: 233 was nice but close to the workshop. I don't know if there is much escape from that, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at this apology for a hotel during our wonderful visit to Costa Rica.

Check in was efficient and friendly. The rooms were not ready, so we left our luggage and went for a walk into the cute town of Sante Elena.

When we returned we noticed that our rooms, which looked great, had been heavily sprayed with insecticide. We had to leave the doors and windows open, because the smell was overpowering. There were bloodstains on the walls from dead insects.

The room was spartan with no coffee maker, TV, fridge or even a cupboard in which to hang our clothes. The only clothes rack was in the bathroom adjacent to the washbasin.

After enjoying a night walk in the Children's Forest and dinner at the thoroughly enjoyable Sabor Tico by the soccer fields, we returned to the Ficus Lodge. There was no hot water. We asked the receptionist who sent someone to fix the problem. The issue was then, that we had to wait an hour before we could shower. We discovered that our other two rooms in our party also did not have hot water.

In the morning, we were very surprised to learn that our reservation excluded breakfast. We paid the breakfast amount. The breakfast, however was adequate.

The second night of our Sante Elena vacation was a duplicate of the first, with no hot water... again!

The beds was not particularly comfortable either.

In the morning we decided to wander around the hotel grounds. We found a much better section of the hotel up the hill. It became clear that the hotel uses the new section to publicize itself, but puts guests into the old, decrepit rooms.

It was highly embarrassing for me, as I lead groups to visit various countries. I rely on tour companies to get me decent accommodation. This was definitely not decent, it was downright awful!

Room Tip: The only acceptable rooms are the new deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Ficus (new name) in mid-September. Our check in was smooth and the receptionist spoke excellent English. We booked one of the new "Sunset Suites" up the hill from the other cottages. The room was very nice and provided an amazing view of Santa Elena and the sunsets. It had a wrap-around balcony, huge shower with hot water, nice beds, and a sitting area. The older rooms are situated in the forest, surrounded by trees and plants. The downtown area is within easy walking distance. The hill is fairly steep into town, but should be fine for just about anyone. The staff was very helpful, and arranged several tours during our stay. The noise from the road woke me up a few times at night (loud motorcycles). Our building was the closest to the road, so maybe request one set back a bit. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and were satisfied. The coffee was excellent, as was their homemade jam. The hotel offered cable TV as well as wireless internet.

Room Tip: You can decide between a new suite with a great view, or less expensive cottages surrounded by wildl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2011.
The setting is beautiful, very close to downtown Santa Elena (5 minute walk!) but also removed from the road. The seeting makes you feel like you are deep inside the cloudforest! The staff was very helpful with the check-in, and many members of my group did laundry, which was returned the following day, thankfully a quick turn-around!
The rooms were wooden, cabin style, and comfortable. the beds had thick bedspreads, a boon during the chilly wet-season! The showers were wonderful and hot also.
Breakfast was buffet style the first morning, serving traditional and American-style foods, and great coffee. The second morning it was a served breakfast and fruit plate, and again wonderful coffee.
The staff were very welcoming, and I would love to go back!
The hotel recently changed it's name to FICUS, and they have more bungalows and a new restaurant further up the jill from reception. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Hostel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Hostel Lodge

Also Known As:
Monteverde Hostel Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Princial | 150 Mts North east from Monteverde Bus sSation, Santa Elena 1273234, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Oasis)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Hostel Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis located in the main street of Santa Elena Center, visit us and check our rooms and rates, we offer you:- Rooms with private bath and hot water- First, second and third floor- Wifi in the rooms- Breakfast included - Communal kitchen- Tour desk- 10% discount for extremos canopy ( only for our guests )We offer you, too:Canopy Extremo ( tour by the cables, tarzan swing, rappel and the superman),Bungee jumping, big tarzan swing,Hanging bridges, night walking, coffee tour, horseback riding, water fall, ATV, and many others tour of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Monteverde Hostel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Hostel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.