We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for your budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tucan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Tucan to your Saves list
Hotel El Tucan
Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Monteverde, Costa Rica
1 review
“Good choice for your budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Local people are really nice and helpful. There is a possibility to order all trips in the hotel and be picked up there. Rooms are clean, little small, with a private bathroom. Beds arent so confortable but it is enough good for few days. There was a common kitchen and a room with computers and a place for relaxing. There is a wifi in the hotel. You can also use a laundry service for fees in the hotel. There is a possibility to have a breakfast that you make by yourself from prepared food, like eggs, a bread, corn flakes, fruits etc. I would recommend the hotel especially to younger people that dont mind to be situated in the centre and are sticked by a budget. There is only one negative, the hotel is situated in a little noisy place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
3
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is a great hostel, with really friendly and helpful staff - Evan in particular - and a great vibe. The living area is made up of lots of hammocks to chill out on and meet people - what more could you want after a day's trekking? The coffee is free all day and there is a free breakfast which is comprehensive. Also free internet, and it's in a great location. The room was a lovely wooden cabin with comfy beds. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This Hotel is great and had I really really good time over there.
The rooms are very clean, big and cheap. Specially the people in this hotel are soooo friendly and will give you the best service in town. Evan can tell you every detail about the tours in and around Monteverde and as well for other places in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stopped by El Tucan to book a reservation for zip lining tours - they gave us the best deal we could find! Not only that, Evan, one of the very friendly and fun staff members, sat there talking to us for hours about the best places to go in Costa Rica. We had a blast just hanging out in the lobby talking to him and all of the guests. They offer free coffee and internet all day, and have a common room with tons of cozy hammocks. Throughout the rest of our stay in Santa Elena, we would drop by just because the vibe there was so great and relaxing. We did not stay there because we had already booked another hotel, but we went upstairs to use the bathrooms, which were in very good shape, and the wood decor upstairs was really charming. We've already talked about staying there when we go back to Costa Rica. Drop by and see Evan for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Compton, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We made the mistake of trying to save money by leaving Pension Santa Elena and moving across the street to Hotel El Tucan. Reasons why this was a mistake:

- we found a cockroach in the bedroom.

- there is no sound insulation. You could actually see down into the reception area through the cracks in the floorboards, so forget about getting any sleep until things quiet down downstairs.

- we were told that the price included a "buffet breakfast." This was not exactly true. There is a common kitchen area where in the morning the hotel staff leaves out some sandwich bread for you to toast yourself and a few dozen eggs that you may cook for yourself, as well as some fruit in a tupperware container. They also put a pot of coffee on for you. This a totally self-service setup and you have to hope that the other hotel guests clean up their frying pans so that you may make your own eggs (there was an egg-encrusted frying pan sitting in the sink all morning the day we arrived).

- Upon check-in, you are asked to pay for the first night in advance. At this time, you are also made to pay a $5 "security deposit" for your room key (?!?), which you are told will be returned to you when you check out. Since my husband and I were catching the 6am bus to Puntarenas on the morning of our check-out, we confirmed with both the owner and his wife that someone would be in reception early in the morning to turn our key into and to retrieve our $5 key deposit from. We were reassured by both that someone would be there by 5:40am to return our deposit to us. The cleaning woman did show up at about 5:40am, but, lo and behold, she said she could not return the $5 to us because the owners and not left her any money to do so. We could not help but to wonder if this was common practice at the hotel. We had never heard of a place that made you leave a deposit for a key, so the whole thing felt suspicious.

The only highligtht at this hotel was the the staff was able get us a student discount for some of the tours, even though we weren't students.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

The owner Tony is a good source of information. He sells perfect tours, especially the canopy tour is the best.
Hotel is good, clean and hot water is available.
It is located on a good spot in town, restaurants and such are at walking distance. Coffee and tea for free the whole day!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tucan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.