We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hostel, pushy owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tucan

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Tucan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Tucan
Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Santa Elena
Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine hostel, pushy owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and the place was fine. There wasn't anything special about it but there were clean rooms and a big kitchen. They provide breakfast in the mornings that you cook yourself. The owner, Tony, greeted us right off of the bus in Santa Elena and promised better prices and bigger rooms than Pension Santa Elena across the street. He said he had a "room for $10" which sounded too good to be true and it turned out to be $10 per person, only $5 cheaper than the other hostel. The shower provided mostly hot water and the staff at the front desk was helpful. The hostel is centrally located so it got really noisy with street traffic at night and in the mornings. The town itself is pretty small so don't be afraid to look around for other places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
3
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I arrived in Monteverde and after checking out several hostels, my friends and I decided El Tucan was the place for us. The owner was very friendly and the hostel's staff incredibly helpful when it came to tours and bus schedules.
Our room was clean, the beds very comfortable, ample blankets were provided due to the cold weather, and best of all, the bathroom was near spotless. The kitchen was clean and properly stocked with any utensil, pan or pot you might need.
The only thing I did not like was that the walls were very thin, and you could hear people talking downstairs and in the adjacent rooms. However, at exactly 10pm, everything quieted down and I got a wonderful sleep. The hospitality of the staff and owner, the cleanliness of the hostel and the quality of the beds and general upkeep of the hostel by far made up for the bit of noise.
I highly recommend this hostel and if I ever make a trip back to Monteverde, I will for sure be staying at El Tucan.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved this hostel!!! We were immediately greeted by the owner, and offered a fair price. We saw that the rooms were clean and well taken care of. The hostel is located in a great area, central to everything in Santa Elena/Monteverde. There are many places to sit and relax, and the kitchen is open for everyone to use. The staff is fantastic, and they offer information on all tours offered in the area. They can book everything for you, but do not pressure you into taking any tours. They are often available for questions and they are so easy to talk to and have great conversations with!!! We loved the atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on one of the outer walls. The motorcycles can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Terrible experience at this hotel!!! Thin wooden walls through you hear all the guests talking in their rooms and loud noise from the television at the communal room which is located underneath the rooms.
Furthermore,I was locked outside my room (trying to go to the bathroom) when reception was closed and there was no phone and no number to reach the owner.Finally,with the police help,I located the Guy who shouted at me on the phone and only the policeman persuaded him to come!
The owner is very aggressive -be aware of the fact and stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royner L, Director of Sales at Hotel El Tucan, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
It is very easy to write a bad review of a hostel when you are the customer, but why you don't has explained to the visitors that you was drinking alcohol and drugs into your room and then you was crying and making lot of noise touching the other customers doors? The other people from the hostel called the owner at midnight to notify him that you were disturbing at night, and then the police came and took you out of our hostel because you were very drunk. We always want to keep our customer in a very safe area and we are not going to tolerate any people trying to disturb the other customers at the hotel. The police in this case was the in charge to fix this problem and this normally never happens. Your bad feedback is affecting the other readers to think about what you wrote, so I hope Trip Advisor will be able to delete your message and penalize you for writing things that are not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff at El Tucan is great! They will help you organise all your activities at good prices. The rooms are clean, the kitchen is very functional and the prices are very affordable with breakfast included (eggs, toasts and fruits).
The owner (who speaks a very good english) is always around to help if you ever need enything.
We did the bungee and canopy which is definitely worth the stop in Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was quite disappointed by this hostel/hotel...I had stayed in many in Central America..Nicaragua and Costa Rica and this was by far the worst one as far as partying and loudness. Apparently the owner leaves the hotel, which isint supposed to happen for security there must always be someone there. He goes home at 9-10pm everynight and he locks the lobby, kitchen and computer room, there was loud partying till 4am and beside my room these people were smoking and talking loud till 4am and then I went out of my room and told them that I wanted to sleep. There was NO security and no rules had to be followed because the owner was not there. And everynight he closes the downstairs area. It was a clean place but I have to say the worst hostel I have stayed in in Central America....won't go back!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the corner, there's a bench there that people sit on and talk all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. Evan is a cool guy who helped us figuiring out the best things to do in Monteverde (we did the 100% Aventura Canopy, the bird tour with Fredi, the frog pond in Santa Elena and the Butterfly gardens). The Place is clean and the rooms (we had a double room with shared bath) are not too small. Breakfast is inclooded (2 eggs, toast and fruit).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tucan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.