We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect...in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tree House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tree House to your Saves list
Hotel Tree House
| In front of the catholic church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Hingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect...in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Ok, I'm traveling solo, and as you can suspect there are many wonderful hotels out of town.
But this hotel is in the CENTER of town! They have a nice restaurant and bar... Nightly music yet all quiet at around 10:00pm if not sooner.
A private room is $24.00 very neat and clean... I'm picky.
Also grocery store Is 20 steps away around the corner.... Even has a small Cantina. Good coffee!
Great for getting drinks and snacks and bring back to your room.
Nice to be able to walk around town... About 10:00 min. Walk.
Enjoyed the music from my room and being able to get a bite one floor down, has it's advantages.

Room Tip: All room are on the third floor. They all seem acceptable and clean for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was really good and the staff was very nice. The hotels location is in the middle of the town. The hotel Room nr. 1 has a very good view.
The area is really good to make some Extreme activities in and Munch cheaper than Arenal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Paid $24/night. Room and bathroom was clean, mattress a little uncomfortable but bearable (better than some). Think some of the reviews here are a bit unfair, it's good value for money. Recommend Flor's "Quiosco" across the road for breakfast or lunch... She opens at 5:30am!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff are two faced like a quarter. If you dont speak spanish it us very hard to communicate, the rooms are run down, tons of noise and difficult to sleep. The hotel is comparable to a rented room in a drug house. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eight of us shared a room in this hotel to save on overall expense. Our room had 6 beds a couple of which were queen-size, most of which were twin beds. The room itself was nothing special, except the kids got a kick out of the towels shaped as swans and elephants. I couldn't tell if the lack of hot water was because of the hotel, or because I was one of the last in our group to get a shower. The night we stayed there were residual winds from a hurricane off the coast and at times it sounded like the roof was going to blow right off of the building, but that wasn't really the fault of the hotel.

The room did have free wifi, which was good as most of us had wifi-enabled devices so that kept everyone happy and quiet in the room.

The best part of this hotel is not the rooms. It's the ambiance of the hotel itself and the restaurant. There is a tree growing literally in the middle of the building with the check-in being on the 1st floor, the restaurant on the 2nd floor and the rooms up on the 3rd. When you are dining in the restaurant, it is open to the tree and a balcony that overlooks the little village. The food was very good, and at periods during the day, a small mariachi-style band would play. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at hotel tree house for 2 nights but where not impressed. To start with the good thing..
..the location. It is in the middle of the village. So you can walk to shops, restaurants and supermarkets. The room is very basic and had no atmosphere. it was clean but that's all. There is a bar around the corner which was really loud till late at night. The staff of the hotel is not really friendly, helpfull and don't give you a welcome feeling. The restaurant is nice decorated and don't think the rooms will be the same. But the prices are overrated and the staff is not friendly aswell.

we paid $50 and we don't think that is worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We would be happy with the hotel - it is centrally located, steps from the bus stop, rooms and beds are clean and spacious, but they didn't have hot water in the shower (water didn't even begin to warm up, it was icy-cold). Staff doesn't speak English well enough to explain what exactly happened, but from what we could gather they had some problem with water heater that could not be fixed in the 2 nights that we were going to stay there. So they reimbursed our deposit and found us another hotel (called "Oasis", which was a truly horrible place, with dirty towels and blood-stained sheets and only marginally warm water). I am really sorry to write bad review, and I truly hope this was just a one off problem that will be eventually fixed, but to find out that you can't take a warm shower after a long day hiking in cold and rainy weather, and having to pack and move to another hotel late in the night left us very disappointed.
BTW, the restaurant at the hotel is really nice, food and service were great, do try it out. The whole idea to build the house around a huge tree is kind of cool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amurillo, Owner at Hotel Tree House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
This review is not for Hotel Tree House. As she mentions, at that time we did not have hot water, since then we refunded the money and this person went somewhere else, she seems to have had many problems at the other hotel and is posting a bad review on our hotel for problems she had at the other place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree House

Address: | In front of the catholic church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a great value for our low price! We recommend our hotel for people who would enjoy nightlife in Santa Elena. Nice and clean rooms with WiFi Internet, private bathroom, hot water and safety box. There is a bar not far from us, they have music which is possible to hear from the rooms (mostly on weekends) - it is not very noisy, but you will hear the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tree House Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.