We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution re:free wireless access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tree House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Tree House
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tree House to your Saves list
| In front of the catholic church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caution re:free wireless access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is good, with nice facilities, we actually had the balcony room, so had a pretty good view of the town. My major gripe is that the hotel states it has free wireless access. This is true, however access is dependent upon a code from the staff AND is only for 30 minutes. Not sure how ethical this is. Also stay away fromt he TreeHouse Mojito. It is vile.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is a nice place with clean rooms in a convenient location. This location has a cost. Loud clubs with rowdy patrons and an annoying car blaring adverts for some local club or something. The restaurant was quite good. The breakfast was among the best I've had at any hotel. But the noise was too much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We really enjoyed the hotel and restaurant however I would recommend NOT staying in room number 1. This room is facing the road which at first seemed like a good idea but we could barely sleep it was so loud with the cars and people all night long. Maybe ask for a different room or just eat there.

Cool place to see either way :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed for one night before taking the coffee and canopy tours. Hotel was unique with a large native tree growing through the center. First floor has souvenir shop, front desk, internet lounge, and the Anywhere Costa Rica (tourism) office. Second floor is their restaurant, which is nice yet the most pricey we saw in Santa Elena. Breakfast (Costa Rican, American, or Omelette) was included. Third floor were rooms, facing the tree inside and the city outside. Noise was not an issue on the night we stayed, and the central location was great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Only stayed for one night at this hotel, the staff were great, especially the boys in the restaurant. Breakfast was lovely, as was dinner. The only complaint I have is the club next door but there's not much you can do about that. Bring ear plugs or, like me be so knackered by travelling from Arenal by horse that it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Bueno - First of, this place is right in the middle of St. Elena so the location can't be beat (not that St. Elena is a sprawling metropolis). But it was nice having all the restaurants, grocery stores, shops, and travel agencies next door. The restaurant was trendy with really excellent live music but overpriced food. The free parking in front was appreciated since we rented a car. Especially because there was security in the premises at night who could keep an eye on the cars parked right in front. I had a major crush on the girl working downstairs and wasn't too upset that it took 4 trips to the lobby to get my wifi to work properly. And the price was great for $45 for a double room.

The mal - uncomfortable bed. The mattress was old and firm, and the flimsy sheet was too small for the mattress so inevitably you would wake up with the sheet pulled off and your face pressed against the mattress. No AC (but it wasn't really needed since the climate was cool). The music from the bar next door is really loud, and definitely makes it difficult to go to sleep since it is so close. We stayed in room #3 and the damn door stop was loose and would fall down, making closing the door impossible unless you physically picked up the door stop to close the door.

Overall, it was a good value and good location so I would probably stay here again but the rooms are of the 2 star basic variety without AC (but with hot water). Don't let the appearance of the nice restaurant fool you - there is a large disparity in quality between the restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights in the summer of 2008. The rooms are a good size and very clean. It is a very secure hotel (a security guard asks you your key and room number at night, which can also be annoying if you go in and out often). The breakfast is amazing since you can choose from the regular menu and everything tasted great. The restaurant at night is lovely.
The free internet access is a major plus.
The first night, we had a huge room fit for a group! The other night we were in a regular room, but it was noisy in both rooms. There is a bar behind the hotel and they play music quite loud until 11pm. Overall, an ok hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree House

Address: | In front of the catholic church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a great value for our low price! We recommend our hotel for people who would enjoy nightlife in Santa Elena. Nice and clean rooms with WiFi Internet, private bathroom, hot water and safety box. There is a bar not far from us, they have music which is possible to hear from the rooms (mostly on weekends) - it is not very noisy, but you will hear the music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tree House Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;