We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Colibri

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Colibri
Save
You added Pension Colibri to your Saves list
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Sommerhausen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Clean place and awesome staff. Very helpful. Thx a lot.
They helped with future bookings and tours.
There were lots of sympthic people, too.
The whole atmosphere was good there.
We had a very good time at the hostel.
You should defintely try it out.
Everyone was so helpful and open for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the private rooms with bathroom in the new bulding. The room was nice with a hot shower! At $35 a night it's on the pricier side of the hostels we've been staying in however included a good breakfast from the adjacent taco stand and without exception the most helpful staff of all the hostels we've stayed in in Central America. There are dorms and cheaper (not as nice) private rooms in the old bulding if you wanted a cheaper option.

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Monteverde.

Room Tip: Ask to see both old and new buildings so you can choose which you prefer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at this hostel and I really enjoyed it. There is a social atmosphere here and so easy to meet people that want to go do things. The kitchen may have been the most used of any I have seen and the place was kept clean. Lights out at 11 for the sleepers and the absolute best advice and assistance from Ran and his staff. Thank you so much for really caring about my vacation and helping me have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in the pension for one day in December.
Shannon and her staff super helpful with all sorts of advises: from lunch places, to
time to visit Monte Verde, to driving to Lago Arenal.
The triple room we stayed has a loft and my son loved it!
We also found the kitchen, free internet and phone calls, very handy.

We had a pleasant experience there and would like to recommend to fellow budget
travellers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We didn't really know anything about Monteverde apon arrival, well, other than we wanted to go to the cloud forest. So after we checked in Ran sat us down and explained to us, in detail, everything Monteverde had to offer. We quickly decided that we wanted to go on a coffee tour and immediately Ran called and had us booked for the tour the next hour. It was an amazing tour, practically private, at one of the local coop farms. We learned so much about coffee and got to try several flavors as well! The next day we went to the Cloud Forest for the zip lining and bridge adventure. It was incredible. And with Rans help we were able to get the most out of our time by going on the hanging bridges first so we didn't have to wait in line forever. Ran and his team were brilliantly helpful with everything, you can't put a price of such valuable information whilst 'backpacking'...

Room Tip: Rooms are very cheap but they have space in the back if you want to bring your own tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Colibri

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Pension Colibri Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.