We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodations, Gracious Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic Accomodations, Gracious Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased. Heiner and his wife Ana were very gracious and helpful. They take great pride in being good hosts. We could not have asked for more from them.

Our cabin was on the first floor, and unfortunately this meant some bugs. The second night we had a visit from a very large scorpion. But Ana came by as soon as I told her and she removed our unwelcome guest with a broom and a dustpan.

The light bulb in our bathroom went out on the third night, and Heiner immediately replaced it. But 15 minutes after he left, it went out again. It was probably a minor electrical problem (a short perhaps? --- I am sure he has fixed it by now.)

Ana and Heiner helped us set up a few bus and taxi rides and tours, and Ana rightly scolded us for not setting up one of them with her. (Instead we used the "Tourism Center" in Santa Elena, which was a mistake. The young woman there did not seem very knowlegdeable and gave us bad information on tours and buses.)

Our room was basic, but comfortable. It would be nice to have one or two small luggage racks, a few more towels, a larger mirror, some kleenex, and a few other things, The hot water in our sink never worked, while the hot water in the shower worked fine. I also suggest adding a "door guard" under the door to keep the bugs out. Ants kept coming in through the space between the door and the floor.

Probably the single best thing about our stay was the breakfasts. They were wonderful. Fresh fruit. juice, tea or coffee, and three main entree choices: pancakes, eggs and toast, or a "traditional Cost Rican breakfast".

I would definitely recommend Monteverde Villa Lodge. Heiner and Ana are very nice people and clearly want to help guests enjoy themselves.

Room Tip: This is near the rainforest and the Cloudforest, so you should expect visits from creatures with 6 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    61
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
176
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights there and had a wonderful time. The host was friendly and very helpful advising us on activities. The Breakfast was yummy. Traditional rice, beans, eggs and plantain; pancakes and eggs, or toast and eggs. Close to town. I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely cabins, big, clean and well decorated. It was a pleasure to stay here. The family that own it are friendly and helpful. Just a 10 minute walk to the shops and bars. Great value for money. highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't plan to check this place out originally, since the prices seemed high for us.
High season has its advantages and we were able to get a very nice room for a reasonable price.
The owners and staff were very nice and speak fluent English. They had a lot of good tips to share and helped with some arrangements we made, including assisting with finding lodging in the next place we visited,
We stayed 3 nights and have noting but good things to say. The room was very comfortable, clean and very hot shower.
Breakfast had a few options (recommend the Tico tipico) in the lovely decorated lounge with beautiful hand made furniture.
The location is a bit off the center. We had a car so we didn't travel much by foot. Also, and many attractions (night walks, canopy, etc.) pick you up from the hotel for no extra charge, which makes the location less of an issue anyway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our 4 night stay at this B&B. The wind was amazing, the trees around must be very strong to adapt to constant gustiness without losing leaves. Our room was a cabin with two large beds, a small kitchenette and a sizable bathroom with a good shower. The owners were gracious and helpful and accommodated our low carb breakfast requests admirably. When the road out of town was blocked by a man made landslide, Heiner drew us a map for an alternate road that was a much prettier drive and only 20 minutes longer. We hope to return and stay at another time of year to see if the same wind experience is true all year!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After five nights we are leaving this beautiful place. Every thing a traveller could want in location, service, cleanliness and value-for-price is five star. What more can you say? Since reviews must be 200 characters, I think I'm there!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights. Room was clean and no bugs. Plenty of parking and I could back the car right up to the rooms.
Host prepared coffee and treats for us when we arrived, and also on our 2nd day, for no charge, they did it just to be nice.
Host helped us book some of our favourite activities in Monteverde; his recommendations were very good and could not be found on TripAdvisor.
Breakfast was fresh prepared every day; eggs, tortillas, coffee, and more.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.