We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, no-frills option in the Monteverde area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save in Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, no-frills option in the Monteverde area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a nice, clean, no-frills option in the Monteverde area. The cabins were rustic, clean and functional, with plenty of space for the kiddos to have some floor space for playing too. There is a small kitchen which was nice as we could prepare some picnic snacks before our excursions. There is a small grassy area outside of the cabin which was nice for the kids to be able to kick a ball around.
While the town is within walking distance, be aware that it isn't the easiest walk if you have small chidren and especially a stroller/pram, with all of the curvy roads, traffic, or gravel and steps...
The breakfast was nice with made-to-order requests honoured! :) The reception area has a PC with WiFi for guests' use. All in all, a nice option in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
157
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It was
fantastic they treated us very well the room was beautiful . They made us breakfast everything was homemade we walk to town enjoyed shopping and eating. Great views.. You could see the ocean from there

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The only negative I can say about the villa lodge, is that we only stayed one night. Heiner and Ana were the most gracious hosts and the room was perfect! We had booked the zip line with our tour company and had free time for the evening, Ana showed us different tour options and we chose the evening hike and she made all the arraignments for us. We really enjoyed the breakfast and will be looking to come back next year to stay for a few days! MC Villa Lodge is a must stay, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I arrived and were graciously greeted by Ana. She was so helpful and friendly in explaining the area and things to do- she even set up a night walk tour that evening and a guided tour of the Monteverde cloud forest (highly recommend both!). The welcome drink (we chose lemonade) was the best I have ever had!! The cabin was spacious and very clean! The hotel is also in a great location and close to town. When we opened our door the next morning to go have the delicious breakfast they provided- we saw our rental car had a flat tire!! Geineer so considerately offered to help. We left the key with him and when we return from our tour we were amazed to find he himself had changed our flat tire and even had the flat tire patched!!! We were speechless! We did not have to take any time from our vacation, Geineer handled everything!! Geineer, Ana, and Natasha were amazing! You can tell they truly care about you and your stay with them- when you stay with them, you are treated like family. Geineer and Ana are two of the most genuinely kind and caring people I have ever met!! And you can not beat the price- do yourself a favor and stay here!!! I will alway remember their kindness and generosity! Made our trip in Monteverde unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our family was staying in Monteverde for two nights which we spent at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The lodge is conveniently located within walking or very short driving distance to Santa Eleana. Heiner totally took care of us. He offered us drinks when we arrived even though it was around 5pm. He was always checking in with us to see if there was anything additional he could do to make our stay more pleasant. Breakfast was wonderful with everything made to order. He took messages from our guide and assisted in coordination with him. On our last day he even made arrangements to store our bags so that we could hike and come back and change for travel that afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I were delighted when we arrived at the Monteverde Villa and were greeted by Heiner and Ana. They were more than gracious and very accommodating. We had booked a night hike and they immediately arranged for our transportation and saw that we were placed in our room. The room was spacious, very clean, and included a small kitchen area with everything needed to eat including a coffee pot.

They served breakfast as part of the room price, it was not just a continental breakfast but a complete meal. The day started with a wonderful fresh fruit tray, orange juice, and included rice, beans, and eggs or waffles. It was delicious.

We were only able to stay two nights but hope to return to this beautifully landscaped hotel soon.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was excellent, however, we stayed on the ground level in room surrounded by beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ana, Heiner and Herbert take hospitality to a whole new level! Despite arriving late in the evening, we were checked in, had directions around town, a great recommendation for dinner and the next days activities booked within half an hour! The rooms are very spacious, clean and include a handy fridge and kitchen area. The breakfasts are generous, made fresh to order and super tasty! However, the thing that makes Monteverde Villa Lodge stand out is the friendliness, generosity and hospitality of the owners and staff who make you feel like you are part of the family. Can very highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.