We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I stayed two nights here and had a wonderful experience.If I ever come down this direction again,Iwould diffently recommend staying here. The atmosphere and the hospitality was awesome. Thank you for giving me an awesome welcome and stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    56
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
151
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was great, the staff is so nice and helps with everything you need.
rooms were very very clean and specious and the price is totally fair. also breakfast is delicious!
highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was my first time in Monteverde, and there are many places to stay with either "monteverde" and "lodge" in their name. This one was a short, easy walk to the main road, but not on the main road. In fact, from here, it was easy to walk to numerous interesting places, including the Santa Elena Reserve.

Beautifully done with guancaste woods, this place had a peaceful green space in front of the cabins. And Heiner (the owner) was very informative and very helpful when it came to arranging adventures such as zip-lining and a night walk in the forest.

Breakfast was tasty, offering the usual choice of eggs, traditional food, or both. Also, bless them, the staff did my laundry (as I had been traveling for more than a week). My large room had a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffee-maker. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a family run hotel; owner very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and was very tasty. We enjoyed the having the option of a Tico breakfast (and choose it every day!) Our room had a rustic feel and was lovely. We will stay here again if we ever go back to Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our room was huge - 2 double beds and 1 single bed + ample of space to move around. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Location is bit off the center, about 10-15 min walk, but it's nice and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and staff was very helpful and friendly. Definately would stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A really, really lovely place to stay.

The rooms are big and the beds are great. (There were two large king-size beds). We were in room 5, one of the middle rooms at ground level just past reception and the breakfast room. Each ‘cabin’ is separated by a large gap between them, so you don’t hear your neighbours. The cabins have a small kitchenette with a breakfast bar, small microwave, coffee maker and fridge. The two course breakfast is a plate of very fresh fruit and then a choice of eggs, toast and jam or pancakes or typical Tico breakfast. We were’t feeling up to the eggs one morning but granola and milk were no problem for them either - they are very amenable.

When we arrive in a new place the main thing we want (after a nice hotel, and a good bed) is sound advice about the tours to take and the things to do / see. It’s really difficult from guide books and the internet to tell what is worth doing and what is not. That is where Heiner and his team are great. They gave us help, advice, recommendations, booked everything for us (sorted the wheat from the chaff) which made everything really easy and meant that we ended up having a brilliant time in Monteverde. All the staff are friendly and it was a joy to stay there.

It’s not bang in the centre of town but few places are and many are much further out. Nearly all the tours picked us up from the hotel but if they didn’t a taxi to, say, the Cheese Factory is only a few dollars. We walked into town town every evening for dinner (and back again) and it was no problem - it took about 10 minutes each way.

It is a very warm and welcoming place and we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The place looks good, there is a very nice breakfast and the owner of the place was very nice and helped us with any thing around.We even got a small gift when we left. And also the price is not bed at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list