We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good location and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

These little cabinas were in a great location close to town but not in the hustle bustle of Santa Elena. Very clean and comfortable. The free breakfasts were awesome and the owners were very helpful when it came to suggesting things in the area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 4 cabinas so there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    58
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
163
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while my boyfriend visited the Monteverde area. Like previous reviews have said, the owners, and all staff I interacted with, are so nice and welcoming! They are always offering to make you a cup of coffee or a glass of juice (if you're a sweaty mess who just walked from Cerro Plano :) ). Very easy to get a cab from the office, and you can book all sorts of activities from the front desk. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and come with a little kitchenette with a breakfast nook, fridge, microwave, and sink. The complimentary breakfast is also wonderful. You are close enough to Santa Elena to easily walk to most places, but far enough back from the main road that its very quiet. Thank you, Heiner!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Amazing owners!!!! Really, the most welcoming and nicest owners I ever met in hotels!
The rooms are large and very clean.
Very good location (close to Santa Elena) and very quiet at night.
The Wifi connection was excellent without any problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this cute lodge while searching for a nice place to stay. We had no idea how perfect this place is! The owners are by far the nicest people we have met during our trip. We got there and it was very cold so the wife made us great coffee with a homemade cake! We stated there for two nights and had a great time there. The breakfast is also very good and the feeling is the owners is doing above and beyond to make you feel comfortable! Just visit there and you'll understand...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The owners could not be more welcoming - along with their staff we had a great stay here for 4 days. They helped book a load of fun adventures - look at other posts for are zip lining and fun coffe and chocolate tours.

The rooms air light bright and warm - it gets colder up in the cloud forest.

It's only 10 min walk or 2 min car drive to centre of Santa Elena - a very cool little mountain town.

But the icing on the cake for customer service was - we got a flat tyre and I was going to change it after canyoning one day - when we arrived back to the hotel my flat tyre had been changed by the owner and everything put back in the car - we were amazed at the thoughtfulness of the hosts.

You must stay here if you go to monteverde - which you have to if your in Costa Rica

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for three nights, the rooms are large and the ones upstairs have lots of natural light which was important for us as we were working. Wifi connection was good and they also have a guest computer available. The breakfast was great, loads of food and good strong coffee. The staff were all super helpful but the most exceptional service was from the owners. The first morning we woke to find we had a flat tyre, we were heading out on a tour, so we left the car for the day and were planning to fix the tyre when we got home. When we got home the owner had changed our tyre for us - now that's going above and beyond! We were there in the afternoon and Anna made us coffees and complimentary carrot cake and they booked all of our tours for us and provided great advise on the area. The villa lodge is just out of the village, a couple of mins drive or a short walk, but this means its peaceful and often has Tucans in the trees in the morning. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You never know what you're going to get, but, in this case, it is more, far more, than expected. We chose the Monteverde Villa Lodge from the reviews on Tripadvisor. But, if those reviews were inaccurate it was just to understate all the wonderful things about the place--especially the hospitality of the hosts.

The room was comfortable, the location quiet. Not quite in the center of Santa Elena, it was just a short walk down quaint village streets from the center.

Our hosts were gracious and helpful. What illustrates most our desire to share this review was the experience of our departure. Due to an odd bus schedule, we needed to leave the Lodge at 5:30. The hosts serve a sumptuous breakfast early--but not that early. They were so empathetic about our plight of beginning a long journey without a bountiful sendoff, that a procession of the husband, wife, and daughter brought us the night before our departure a tray of goodies-fruits, rice and beans, etc.--all the fare that we would have enjoyed in the morning. They even brought with them an electric coffee machine so we could brew cups of wonderful Costa Rican coffee. This event was in keeping with the kind of warmth and caring that are the hallmark of this little establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.