We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place to stay - charming and warm hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Special place to stay - charming and warm hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You never know what you're going to get, but, in this case, it is more, far more, than expected. We chose the Monteverde Villa Lodge from the reviews on Tripadvisor. But, if those reviews were inaccurate it was just to understate all the wonderful things about the place--especially the hospitality of the hosts.

The room was comfortable, the location quiet. Not quite in the center of Santa Elena, it was just a short walk down quaint village streets from the center.

Our hosts were gracious and helpful. What illustrates most our desire to share this review was the experience of our departure. Due to an odd bus schedule, we needed to leave the Lodge at 5:30. The hosts serve a sumptuous breakfast early--but not that early. They were so empathetic about our plight of beginning a long journey without a bountiful sendoff, that a procession of the husband, wife, and daughter brought us the night before our departure a tray of goodies-fruits, rice and beans, etc.--all the fare that we would have enjoyed in the morning. They even brought with them an electric coffee machine so we could brew cups of wonderful Costa Rican coffee. This event was in keeping with the kind of warmth and caring that are the hallmark of this little establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    58
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
163
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want a small, family run hotel with excellent service, amazing breakfasts (included) and wonderfully clean rooms then this is it! We adored the family hosts and were always greeted with warm smiles, an offer of coffee or hot chocolate, wonderful advice on the best places to visit and a feeling that we just gained some new family. It is a 10 minute walk to the main part of town or a $2 cab ride. One night it was raining so heavily that the receptionist ordered our dinner from a local restaurant and a cab drove it over to us. Fabulous!! All tours and adventures pick up directly at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you stay in St. Elena, you have to book a cabina at Monteverde Villa Lodge. At our arrival the host Heiner welcomed us with coffee and gave us information about tours and the village itself (where we can eat, which tours he can recommend us, etc.) The room was really big and very clean. Every day we had a wonderful breakfast with scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, and/or tostadas/pancakes and delicious fruits.The only negative thing was that the neighbours dogs were barking in two of the three nights.
Heiner and his team were always so nice and helpful in every belonging. Although we only have positive experience with the hosts in Costa Rica, I have to admit that Heiner and this team were the nicest. The day of our departure they gave us a fob as a gift! We will never forget our stay at Monteverde Lodge.
All in all stay: if you want to enjoy your stay in St. Elena book a cabina at Monteverde Lodge - you won´t regret it, that´s for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 3 days here for our honeymoon. Heiner is really an amazing host. So generous, kind, friendly, and gracious. Love him.

We ended up staying in one of the rooms above the main building. The room was small, but all that we needed. Heiner actually tried to give us one of the bigger rooms for a tiny upgrade, but we just didn't need the extra space. It felt like he just wanted us to be comfortable and it was less about money.

Pros:
- Hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown area, which is awesome. It's nice to be just a little bit away from the crazy traffic and tourist area.
- They were so helpful with setting up all tours and transportation for us.
- Breakfast each morning was delicious, starting with a huge plate of fresh fruit and strong local coffee.

Cons:
- We stayed in the rooms upstairs and the walls are a bit thin. On our last night a family checked in next door and we could hear much of what was happening next door.

It seems like the Cabins are really nice. We tried to get into one of those, but they were already booked so book ahead.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This lodge was close to town, a ten minute walk. The owner made us feel very welcome, and arranged a couple of trips for us. Breakfast was lovely, comprising a plate of fruit, then a choice of eggs, panckakes etc. Rooms were basic, but clean and it was the perfect place to saty of you are exploring the rainforests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

we chose this place based on trip advisor reviews. We loved the owners, they are very warm and gave us good tips on tours and even called to book them for us. the breakfasts every morning were also wonderful. The downside to this place are the extremely thin walls. We did not get a wink of sleep. In the first room we stayed in (double cabin room) we were disturbed all night by the neighbors dogs that were barking nonstop. We are from NYC so we are used to noise, but this was just unbearable. On our last night we were moved upstairs to an economy room, and it was even worse.. Mixed with the dog barking was our neighbors talking and laughing in the room next door. We could literally hear every word of their conversation it was so bad. The shower also had literally 1 minute of hot water, which in Monteverde is bad because it is pretty cold there. Aside from the wonderful people that own this establishment, we were not very pleased with this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We, a family of four stayed in bungalow 8, which has a queen bed and two singles. Upon arrival we were welcomed and got a lot of info on Monteverde. After we were brought to the bungalow we got lemonade and coffee. The bungalow was very clean. Though the bungalow is spacious the bathroom is rather small. The breakfast was nice and more than sufficient. Definitely, a place to stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.