We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. We arrived and the owner immediately greeted us with fresh lemon aid. Our rooms were large and very clean - my family stayed in room 8 at the far end of the lodge while my sisters slept in room 6. Both rooms had microwave ovens, a sink and a nice bathroom with hot water. The beds were firm and had more blankets than we needed, even though the evenings were cool.

I can't say enough about the owners. Very nice, very helpful. They helped us book tours and find restaurants (the pizza place around the corner is especially good) and their recommendations were spot-on. They even called every single night tour operator to find prices for kids and get tour times. The breakfast was delicious, and they were always ready with a cup of coffee or tea (or hot chocolate for my kids) whenever we were in the common areas.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to downtown Santa Elena. The street it's on isn't particularly nice, but hopefully that won't stop anyone from staying there. Very good value for the money with excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 8 had very weak wifi - the rooms closer to the hotel reception area had better reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
157
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this lovely hotel and I must say it was the best hospitality we received in all of Costa Rica! The rooms were super clean and the very kind owner, Heiner even brought an extra bed. Both husband, wife and son were very hospitable. Very good info with surrounding tours and excellent breakfast in the morning. I felt safe. It was very homey. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spend 3 nights here after time in Arenal; now heading to Manuel Antonio Nat. Park. Excellent service, clean rooms, extremely helpful in booking and recommending tours. Traveling with another family, we enjoyed excellent breakfast every morning and hanging out in the lobby area in the evening after long days of hikes/tours. Providing laundry service was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this conveniently located hotel! From the warm welcome to the delicious breakfast....to personal attention to tour booking and laundry service....we felt like familia! Highly recommend and would love to return again. We had a fabulous 3 nights!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I who live in Guanacaste came to Monteverde with our niece and nephew who were visiting from the US,,,,,,,,,from the beginning Ana and Heiner and their staff were very helpful, with driving directions, recommendations for local restaurants - Sabor Tico - is the place to go!!! The room was excellent - we were welcomed with fresh lemonade and swan shaped towels on the beds.............breakfast was really great..........I would recommend Villa Lodge to anyone - couples and family alike...........hopefully we will visit them again soon..............

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When visiting Monteverde, we never want to stay anywhere else but Monteverde Villa Lodge. There is something about the simplicity + calmness + friendly atmosphere provided by these quaint little cabinas that just equals a great stay.

This hotel property is small, quiet, and located within walking distance to downtown Santa Elena. Rates are greatly priced, breakfast is included, and the cabins offer preferred amenities such as hot water, wireless internet, cable tv, and kitchenettes. Beyond these desired features, the best thing about this hotel is its owners – Heiner and Ana. New friends of ours as a result of our regular stays at their hotel, these two individuals offer travellers more than they could ask for, from friendly service with a smile to great advice about their town. The icing on the cake (or should I say the jelly on the toast?) was the homemade guava jam served at breakfast made from the guava fruit trees at the front of the hotel.

When travellers ask us for an affordable place to stay in Monteverde, we always think of Monteverde Villa Lodge first. We couldn’t ask for more from this accommodation option – the tranquil cabins are a perfect representative of the calmness that is Monteverde, and we are happy to recommend this accommodation option to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent two nights here. The owner and his wife are the nicest people. When we checked in, we were offered refreshments right away, and they helped us find all the things to do in the area. At breakfast he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and both of them were always very friendly. The rooms are not fancy but they're large and clean. It was a really nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.