We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners are so nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The owners are so nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent two nights here. The owner and his wife are the nicest people. When we checked in, we were offered refreshments right away, and they helped us find all the things to do in the area. At breakfast he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and both of them were always very friendly. The rooms are not fancy but they're large and clean. It was a really nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    63
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
182
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bay area, ca
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was recommended to us by our hotel folks in arenal ... We were greeted by Cristina Ana who immediately offered us refreshments of our choice. Once we settled into our room , she gave us all options of places to eat at, tours to go with, places to visit and such. What we also realised is she takes feedback from all her guests about the various tours , and then refines her recommendation to the future guests.

They would call and coordinate different tours and pick ups and it worked beautifully . Not once was there a misstep from them.

The rooms were quite nice and adequate. No complaints on that front either. When the power went out for a brief while, Ana was immediately at our door asking us if we needed torch lights.

The breakfast was wholesome with a choice of toast and egg , pancakes or the local tico breakfast. They would have the breakfast ready early if we requested it.

On our last day we changed our plans and instead of going to San Jose we decided to goto Manuel Antiono at the very last minute. Ana was very very accommodating , calling all shuttle services finding out the rates and finally suggesting that we rent a car . We spent a few hours after check out waiting for the car to arrive and they didn't mind at all. They were extremely helpful, warm and friendly folks and it is things like these that make your travel and experience at a place special.

Highly recommended and we wouldn't think twice about where to stay the next time we around in Monte Verde.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The owner and his wife went out of their way to be helpful. The cabins are large and very quiet. Unlike in other areas of Costa Rica, air conditioning is not needed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days in April and we had a wonderful experience. The Cabin was large and clean. The outside light was not working on arrival and it was fixed immediately. We asked for a coffee maker and microwave and they were brought to us on demand. Nothing was too much trouble and all visits that were available were booked by Heiner who always had time to help us choose. Karen on reception was also very amiable.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a choice of fruit, toast, pancakes, plantain etc.
Drinks included fruit juice,tea, coffee, chocolate and you could always ask for more.
It was nice to go somewhere and feel so comfortable, as if staying with unobtrusive relatives!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great stay. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. Heiner, the host, was incredibly helpful and hospitable and made us a delicious breakfast as well as helping us book local tours. We never got to meet Erick. There was no AC in the room, but it was not needed anyhow, and we didn't even use the fan that was provided. The location is good - just a 10 minute walk into the tiny town center, including the supermarket. Monteverde has several loud trucks that rattle past so the quieter location makes sense! The only downside is that the room was quite dark as there is not much natural sunlight that gets through all the vegetation, but this was a minor inconvenience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. Hainor and his wife were wonderful hosts. Our room (#5) was clean, quiet and spacious. They were so kind as to bring us coffee and toast/homemade jam to our room upon check-in. It was like being greeted by old friends! We were there w/my parents (68 & 66 yrs old).

Relatively easy to find, very accommodating, well-lit at night.

Breakfast was very filling and tasty! First morning we had a traditional breakfast w/gallo pinto, eggs, cheese and ripe plantain. The 2nd morning we had tasty pancakes w/scrambled eggs. Afternoon coffee was available if you were around.

We took a nature walk tour at the Curi-Cancha reserve w/Rafael (Hainor knows him) for $20/pp the first morning there. We saw the resplendant quetzal, bell bird, and many others! It was a half day tour (early morning). Highly recommend him as a tour guide!!

Room Tip: We had 5 & 6. 5 has two double beds. 6 has a double bed and single bed. Room 7 has 2 doubles I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just stayed at this place in one of the cabina's and it was nice, clean and walking distance to the down town area. I think it was the owner of the place and he was super nice and very willing to help. He spoke pretty good english and was eager to learn more english and also teach spanish. We stayed here two nights and had breakfast there twice and it was very good. The only complaint was the wind at night and it shook the whole cabina but there is nothing that the hotel could do about that of course :) All around I would recommend this place and great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.