We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days in April and we had a wonderful experience. The Cabin was large and clean. The outside light was not working on arrival and it was fixed immediately. We asked for a coffee maker and microwave and they were brought to us on demand. Nothing was too much trouble and all visits that were available were booked by Heiner who always had time to help us choose. Karen on reception was also very amiable.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a choice of fruit, toast, pancakes, plantain etc.
Drinks included fruit juice,tea, coffee, chocolate and you could always ask for more.
It was nice to go somewhere and feel so comfortable, as if staying with unobtrusive relatives!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    56
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
153
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great stay. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. Heiner, the host, was incredibly helpful and hospitable and made us a delicious breakfast as well as helping us book local tours. We never got to meet Erick. There was no AC in the room, but it was not needed anyhow, and we didn't even use the fan that was provided. The location is good - just a 10 minute walk into the tiny town center, including the supermarket. Monteverde has several loud trucks that rattle past so the quieter location makes sense! The only downside is that the room was quite dark as there is not much natural sunlight that gets through all the vegetation, but this was a minor inconvenience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. Hainor and his wife were wonderful hosts. Our room (#5) was clean, quiet and spacious. They were so kind as to bring us coffee and toast/homemade jam to our room upon check-in. It was like being greeted by old friends! We were there w/my parents (68 & 66 yrs old).

Relatively easy to find, very accommodating, well-lit at night.

Breakfast was very filling and tasty! First morning we had a traditional breakfast w/gallo pinto, eggs, cheese and ripe plantain. The 2nd morning we had tasty pancakes w/scrambled eggs. Afternoon coffee was available if you were around.

We took a nature walk tour at the Curi-Cancha reserve w/Rafael (Hainor knows him) for $20/pp the first morning there. We saw the resplendant quetzal, bell bird, and many others! It was a half day tour (early morning). Highly recommend him as a tour guide!!

Room Tip: We had 5 & 6. 5 has two double beds. 6 has a double bed and single bed. Room 7 has 2 doubles I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just stayed at this place in one of the cabina's and it was nice, clean and walking distance to the down town area. I think it was the owner of the place and he was super nice and very willing to help. He spoke pretty good english and was eager to learn more english and also teach spanish. We stayed here two nights and had breakfast there twice and it was very good. The only complaint was the wind at night and it shook the whole cabina but there is nothing that the hotel could do about that of course :) All around I would recommend this place and great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my dad stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. Heiner and his staff were very professional, and very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, travel arrangements etc. Heiner clearly makes it his mission that everyone gets one they need and have a great time during their stay.

The breakfast was great, and so were the rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the perfect little private place to stay within a safe 8-10 minute walk to Santa Elaina. The rooms were very spacious with everything you would need including a kitchen area and private bathroom with plenty of hot water! Anna and Heiner (The owners) were so kind and helpful in planning activities and serving the most wonderful and delicious breakfast every morning. This is all included in your stay. We had pancakes, toast, the typical rice & beans with scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit! I would highly recommend this place to stay if you just need a clean room and great service (there is no pool or fitness center). It is great for any kind of trip including families, couples, solo, or friends traveling together. We were very pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in one of the cabins. It included one double bed and two single beds for the kids, a decent-sized bathroom, a refrigerator and microwave. Anna and Heiner the owners were very friendly and helpful in arranging activities. They made everything seemlessly easy. Breakfast was delicious. The location is an easy 7-10 minute walk into town. It was much quieter staying out of town, though a little strange to be nestled between a residential house and a metal fabrication building. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
Suites, Free Pa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Las Orquideas
Las Orquideas
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 8 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Casa Batsu
Casa Batsu
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list