We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and GREAT hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good value and GREAT hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the perfect little private place to stay within a safe 8-10 minute walk to Santa Elaina. The rooms were very spacious with everything you would need including a kitchen area and private bathroom with plenty of hot water! Anna and Heiner (The owners) were so kind and helpful in planning activities and serving the most wonderful and delicious breakfast every morning. This is all included in your stay. We had pancakes, toast, the typical rice & beans with scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit! I would highly recommend this place to stay if you just need a clean room and great service (there is no pool or fitness center). It is great for any kind of trip including families, couples, solo, or friends traveling together. We were very pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    58
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
162
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in one of the cabins. It included one double bed and two single beds for the kids, a decent-sized bathroom, a refrigerator and microwave. Anna and Heiner the owners were very friendly and helpful in arranging activities. They made everything seemlessly easy. Breakfast was delicious. The location is an easy 7-10 minute walk into town. It was much quieter staying out of town, though a little strange to be nestled between a residential house and a metal fabrication building. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If I was just rating the property, I might give 4 out of 5, as the accommodation is simple, though very clean and in a handy location to walk to town. But, the service and hospitality deserve a 5 or more - the owner is awesome. He is very helpful and kind, and made a special effort to find us a local guide who knew non-tourist places to see birds, monkeys and sloths. The included breakfast was excellent. The only drawback were the dogs next door that barked loudly during the night. But, it is on the edge of the village and one should probably expect country noises of dogs, roosters, children and so on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 10 day Costa Rica trip (Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio) planned through Catalina at CR Referrals (highly recommended). We are a family of 3 including our adult daughter. We were looking for nice but not extravagant hotels with a spacious room to accommodate the 3 of us. Plus an additional challenge of Easter week and limited availability.

The Villa Lodge is not a full service hotel. It is a family run, small bed and breakfast. Since we were busy all day seeing the sights in the area and not "hanging out" at the hotel, the property worked fine for us. We were in room #7.It was very clean and spacious with 2 double beds and kitchen area. Wifi worked well in the room.

Owner and host Heiner was wonderful. His whole family is involved in the operation and their caring is apparent. The breakfast served in the dining room was very good: lovely plentiful fruit platter including bananas, watermelon, pineapple and then a choice of a typical CR breakfast or eggs with toast or pancakes.

It is an easy 10 minute walk into the town.

It was extremely windy during our entire stay and we are not sure if the Villa Lodge is in some sort of wind tunnel because we did not find the wind as bad in other areas of town.

During our stay we did the all day tour #4 at Selvatura that included Zip line, Hanging bridges, Butterfly and Hummingbird gardens and lunch. And that night we did the Santa Maria Night Walk (http://www.nightwalksantamarias.com/) with guide Hector - it was great fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited Monteverde in Jan 2013 and stayed at the Monteverde Villa Lodge. I booked the hotel based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor and it exceeded expectations on all fronts.We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were greeted very well by the owner. Our expectations were clear and we were expecting a lodge to stay for a couple of nights during our stay in Monteverde, and not a luxury resort. The owner was very helpful and made us feel at home. He recommended all the local tourist spots and was very genuine and informative.
The morning breakfast was home cooked and served by the owner, and was the best part of the stay. In fact, we looked forward to it on both days of our stay. The location is convenient and is about 5 mins from Santa Elena downtown. A cab one way would cost about $2 to downtown.
Overall, we really liked our stay here. The one thing that we felt was that there was too much wind and there was constant sound of trees swaying at night. But, it was not a deal breaker for us, as there were so many other positive things about the place. I would definitely stay at this place again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

By no means is this lodge a luxurious or fancy hotel to stay. It is very simple, log like cabins to stay in. However, the value as the price is extremely reasonable and the excellent service makes the stay worth it. I am very particular about cleanliness and our room was beyond clean. When we walked into our cabin daily you could smell that it had thoroughly been cleaned. The owner was beyond nice and helpful. He suggested different tours, places of interest, restaurants, and was able to book everything and arrange transportation for us.

Breakfast is included and it was perfect. A platter of watermelon, bananas, and pineapple are served as you sit and we had a choice of scrambled eggs with toast, pancakes, traditional Costa Rican breakfast, or granola with milk. I had the eggs, my husband had pancakes and it was all very yummy!

If you are looking for a reasonable place that's within walking distance to town, good service and value, I highly recommend this b &b

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were greeted by the friendly staff. Fresh coffee and lemonade were brought to our spacious room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly, kind and helpful. They arranged for a tour of the Don Juan coffee plantation (excellent) and the Monteverde Cloud Forest. We highly recommend this picturesque hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.