We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for our 2 night stay in Monteverde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Villa Lodge
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Worked well for our 2 night stay in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 10 day Costa Rica trip (Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio) planned through Catalina at CR Referrals (highly recommended). We are a family of 3 including our adult daughter. We were looking for nice but not extravagant hotels with a spacious room to accommodate the 3 of us. Plus an additional challenge of Easter week and limited availability.

The Villa Lodge is not a full service hotel. It is a family run, small bed and breakfast. Since we were busy all day seeing the sights in the area and not "hanging out" at the hotel, the property worked fine for us. We were in room #7.It was very clean and spacious with 2 double beds and kitchen area. Wifi worked well in the room.

Owner and host Heiner was wonderful. His whole family is involved in the operation and their caring is apparent. The breakfast served in the dining room was very good: lovely plentiful fruit platter including bananas, watermelon, pineapple and then a choice of a typical CR breakfast or eggs with toast or pancakes.

It is an easy 10 minute walk into the town.

It was extremely windy during our entire stay and we are not sure if the Villa Lodge is in some sort of wind tunnel because we did not find the wind as bad in other areas of town.

During our stay we did the all day tour #4 at Selvatura that included Zip line, Hanging bridges, Butterfly and Hummingbird gardens and lunch. And that night we did the Santa Maria Night Walk (http://www.nightwalksantamarias.com/) with guide Hector - it was great fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited Monteverde in Jan 2013 and stayed at the Monteverde Villa Lodge. I booked the hotel based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor and it exceeded expectations on all fronts.We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were greeted very well by the owner. Our expectations were clear and we were expecting a lodge to stay for a couple of nights during our stay in Monteverde, and not a luxury resort. The owner was very helpful and made us feel at home. He recommended all the local tourist spots and was very genuine and informative.
The morning breakfast was home cooked and served by the owner, and was the best part of the stay. In fact, we looked forward to it on both days of our stay. The location is convenient and is about 5 mins from Santa Elena downtown. A cab one way would cost about $2 to downtown.
Overall, we really liked our stay here. The one thing that we felt was that there was too much wind and there was constant sound of trees swaying at night. But, it was not a deal breaker for us, as there were so many other positive things about the place. I would definitely stay at this place again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShankarH_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

By no means is this lodge a luxurious or fancy hotel to stay. It is very simple, log like cabins to stay in. However, the value as the price is extremely reasonable and the excellent service makes the stay worth it. I am very particular about cleanliness and our room was beyond clean. When we walked into our cabin daily you could smell that it had thoroughly been cleaned. The owner was beyond nice and helpful. He suggested different tours, places of interest, restaurants, and was able to book everything and arrange transportation for us.

Breakfast is included and it was perfect. A platter of watermelon, bananas, and pineapple are served as you sit and we had a choice of scrambled eggs with toast, pancakes, traditional Costa Rican breakfast, or granola with milk. I had the eggs, my husband had pancakes and it was all very yummy!

If you are looking for a reasonable place that's within walking distance to town, good service and value, I highly recommend this b &b

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hofstra485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were greeted by the friendly staff. Fresh coffee and lemonade were brought to our spacious room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly, kind and helpful. They arranged for a tour of the Don Juan coffee plantation (excellent) and the Monteverde Cloud Forest. We highly recommend this picturesque hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are a lot of small properties in Santa Elena and this was an excellent choice. Heiner and Ana are wonderful hosts. They are informative and helpful with trip planning. Heiner found us a really good guide for the Monteverde Reserve. Ana makes a great breakfast. Together, they provide comfortable, clean and well-furnished lodgings at a reasonable price. The Lodge is a few blocks from the center of town so it is walkable for dinner and other needs. Driving to Santa Elena is not easy because of the roads so it is a bonus to not have to get into the car again to find a restaurant. That prompts me to add advice on getting to Monteverde. If you are renting a car, you will want an SUV because of the roads. 4WD is not essential. Don't plan to drive in after dark. Make sure the car rental includes GPS navigation. And allow yourself time, Don't be fooled by deceptively short distances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherst_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed as a family with 2 boys here a couple of days in February this year and it was lovely! Very clean rooms and bathroom. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. It was quite chilly in Monte Verde after having spent many weeks on the coast but is was lovely to be welcomed by warm chocolate milk, tea or coffee upon arrival!
The location is in a quite area not far from the centre of town.
Very helpful and very friendly people working here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Quick synopsis: I live in Costa Rica. If you don't stay here, one of three things will happen: 1. You'll pay WAY more for a luxury resort/spa; 2. you'll pay more for less (this place is priced below its value); 3. you'll pay less and get much less (e.g., hostel-like atmosphere, surrounded by stores/restaurants, sharing a shower, etc). If you are a value seeker, don't waste your time looking elsewhere. This place is awesome. My wife (and soon, son) and I will be back to Monteverde in the near future and I will spend a grand total of 0 seconds researching where to stay: here again. We stayed here with my 70-year-old parents (and in case you missed it, my wife’s 5 month’s pregnant; so cleanliness and comfort were big issues for us).

More info: I almost never write reviews. But I want to add my voice in this instance because we had SUCH a positive experience, and this is a single-family-run place and they do a superb job. I am a U.S. ex-pat who has lived in Costa Rica for 10 years. My wife is Costa Rican. We've been all over the country, have stayed in everything from $2/night shacks at remote beaches with no windows to 5-star hotels with casinos. But mostly, we choose the in-between/value option: a clean place with breakfast, very good location, hot water, and respectful staff. This place goes WAY beyond those requirements. The rooms are immaculate and huge, with tons of air circulation, a TV with cable, WiFi, kitchenette/stools (with plates/silverware/glasses), big showers/bathrooms, a refrigerator (as big as they come in rooms), etc. To be honest, the rooms are as nice/big as most resorts ($140-185/night) we’ve stayed at. Most rooms also have little cement patios with plastic tables and/or wooden benches. And, as everyone keeps mentioning, the family couldn’t be cooler or nicer or more accommodating. Their free breakfast, which is excellent, is served in a very well done/decorated/interesting sun room off the check-in area. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms (my parents in one the whole stay; my wife and I moved one night) because we booked this with just a few days’ notice and that was all they had available on our given nights. My comments pertain to all three rooms. We saw toucans, toucancillos (a species of little toucans), several other very pretty birds (species unknown), a sloth, and various lizards around the hotel. It’s just outside of town (Santa Elena) = much less noise, yet w/in easy walking distance (just be careful on the busy road w/o a sidewalk).

So, in sum: There's no jacuzzi, no pool, no spa, not a ton of elaborate landscaping (but what they’ve done is nice), but this place is ideal if you want a very nice, very clean, perfectly located (in my opinion), very spacious and comfortable, pleasant, convenient, and trustworthy place to stay (with the best breakfast in town to boot!). Note the date of this review. Some issues mentioned by previous years’ reviewers no longer apply (plenty of places to hang things [we had dressers actually!], nothing’s “unfinished,” etc). As for that one reviewer who mentions a bad smell in “several of the rooms” – s/he should check his/her shoes, b/c, as I said, we stayed in 3 diff rooms and this is simply not true. My guess? That person is a competitor pretending to be from the U.S., and purposely trying to seed doubt—that’s not uncommon here. The fact that he calls the rooms rustic and small also strongly suggests that’s the case; they are huge rooms, and although they’re made out of very nice wood, they’re not at all what I would call “rustic.”

One final general note: people that complain of things like rain or wind (in a cloud forest!) or ants or no hot water in sinks need to be ignored to an extent. Why? These things have nothing to do with any given hotel/motel. These are constants. No hotel, not even fancy hotels, have hot water in sinks. Just the shower. And ants? If you don’t like ants then don’t come to Costa Rica. Ants rule the country. At our own house (near San Jose, NOT in or even near a forest!) our patio (much less our actual garden, just the patio itself!) has at least 6 species walking around day and night, 4 of which enter our house every single night. It’s just how it is! You can’t defeat them. You squash them, you clean the floor, they’re back in 3 hours. So don’t judge a hotel by a bug that you might see!

Room Tip: If you want more of a "cabina" feel, request any of the first-floor rooms adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David8043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 4 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing