We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

1. Great service. The owner is very nice. He help us book the tours. Also we forgot the camera in the hotel and he mail it back to us.
2. Clean rooms. We have a family with 6 people. We feel like stay at home.
3. Breakfast is very good.
4. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    58
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
163
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great stay for those on a (reasonable) budget but who want comfort and proximity. On arrival we were told that it would be best to get a taxi to go to Santa Elena as it was too far to walk, but there must have been a language issue, because the town is only a short walk away. There was a sloth in a tree on our walk back, about a meter above our heads!

The Villa Lodge does not pretend to be a spa resort, but it is a completely adequate base for exploring the remarkable surrounding area, and the staff could not be nicer or more accommodating.

Tip: if you're going to do a night walk in one of the cloud forest areas, beware that it may be close to impossible to find a place open for dinner after the walk!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great family run place! Excellent service and help with booking transfers and tours.
The location is a short walk to main part of santa elena but easy to get around and to get tithe reserve.
The included breakfast was also good. Overall incredible value and very enjoyable .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Professional booking, warm welcome, very clean bedroom & bathroom, simple but very funcional.

The owner Heiner and his Staff are professional, very friendly and extremely helpful in recommending sites, tours and other activities as well as restaurantes.

The breakfast was outstanding considering that this is a 2-3 star accomodation which included feshly made omlettes, or other warm dishes like the traditional Costa Rican breakfast. As well as a broad selection of fruits and tea & coffee.

Room Tip: You have the options of seperate cabins which were excellent and bedrooms above the reception which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in Monteverde and stayed at the Villa Lodge. The cabins are basic, have a tiny TV but are clean and well maintained. The location is a 10 minute stroll down a rough rocky road to the "centre" of town but that was fine with us. The area is quiet and away from the motorcycle traffic of the main street.
Breakfasts are good with 3 choices and fruit is served for all choices.
Heiner and his staff are eager to please and will make all arrangements for taxis, tours, shuttles, etc. They would even prepare coffee for us at night. We did not have a car but can attest the Villa Lodge has plenty of secure parking.
One fact to note is that the Monteverde area has tremendous winds in the December - January period. This has nothing to do with the Villa Lodge as accommodations, just a note about the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reva, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A bit removed from downtown Santa Elena, the Monteverde Villa Lodge was clean, quiet, and served a large breakfast in a pleasant dining room, with your choice of American or typical Costa Rican food. We were two couples, each with a room in the main lodge. The rooms were large, clean, sparsely but adequately furnished, and could each have accommodated a family (one actually had two bathrooms). There was a television in each room, and there is wi-fi in the lobby. The only thing missing was a lamp by the bed so that one could read. The shower was good and hot. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were greeted with a welcome lemonade or coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Monteverde and we were referred to this small hotel. What we found was clean, safe hotel run by the nicest people. Heiner and Ana were not only friendly, they went out of their way to be helpful. They welcome guests with tea or coffee on the house. The (included) breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice, amazing coffee and wonderful fresh fruit to complement a cooked breakfast. The value was amazing - in fact the best value we had in all of Costa Rica. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.