We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Monteverde and we were referred to this small hotel. What we found was clean, safe hotel run by the nicest people. Heiner and Ana were not only friendly, they went out of their way to be helpful. They welcome guests with tea or coffee on the house. The (included) breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice, amazing coffee and wonderful fresh fruit to complement a cooked breakfast. The value was amazing - in fact the best value we had in all of Costa Rica. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    56
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
149
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sister and I were backpacking through Costa Rica together and wanted a safe yet cheap place to stay in Santa Elena. We wanted a private bathroom and a kitchenette so we could make our own suppers. This place gave us everything we needed and at a cheap price. It is by far the cleanest place I saw in Costa Rica. Ana and Heiner are amazing, nice and helpful (the reviews are true!). They obviously care a lot about their clients. Breakfast in the morning is included and is a yummy huge meal that keeps you full well past lunch time. They have a really sociable dog that followed us around the village for the week we were there. We will definitely stay there again in the future and recommend it to everyone going to Santa Elena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked this place based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, but was slightly skeptical about just how nice Ana and Heiner were...until I met them. They have to be the kindest, most genuine people I have ever met. When we checked in Ana took the time to go over the area with us and recommend different activities for us to do based on our interests, after we had been in our room for a bit she brought us coffee, tea and a fresh fruit plate with chocolates. They called a taxi for us with the most amazing driver who took us on a mini tour of Monteverde and the breakfast in the morning was huge and delicious. We had only booked one night in Monteverde and I was kicking myself that we couldn't stay longer. I can't thank them enough for making our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place was great. The location was a little bit outside of central St. Elena, but easy to find. The couple that owns and runs the hotel are super nice and helpful and will help you to make any sort of tour/ziplining/adventure reservation you need. The rooms are clean, spacious and modernized, though the hot water did run out a little quickly. Rooms incude a little kitchenette with a frige, sink, microwave and coffee maker. And they give you a goodbye present when you leave. Absolutely wonderful hotel, and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a family of 3 (us + 2 yr old) traveling in Dec 2012, paid $70/night. The room was big and the beds comfortable, the shower clean & lots of hot water & strong water pressure (better than the posh hotel we stayed at in La Fortuna!).

We felt so welcome here, Ana and her husband gave us excellent service, whatever we needed they happily provided (milk for my daughter at night, pancakes & yogurt at breakfast for my fussy daughter, directions, restaurant tips, etc). Their breakfast (standard gallo pinto, plaintains, fruits and coffee) was great.

The only downside is the walls are paper thin - we could hear the people nx door waking up and chatting. This wasnt a big problem though bcoz we wake up early and come back late, like most tourists, so its not like they were keeping us up at night or woke us up early. We had the middle room though so we had 2 neighbors, so I would say request a corner room so at least u only have 1 neighbor.

Room Tip: Try not to get the middle room where you'll have 2 neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was by far the best place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and it is a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. More importantly, though, there aren't enough words to describe how kind, helpful and hospitable Ana and Heiner are. We happened to be here over Christmas and returned from ziplining on the 25th to find a platter of fresh fruit, chocolates, tamales and a traditional drink. Don't even bother considering any other place in Santa Elena. You'll want to take Ana and Heiner with you everywhere you go, and will feel like family by the time you leave! We were sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is located 5-10 min walk from the town, may get confused a bit at night if you are not used to the area but close enough and conveniently located. For most activities you are picked up directly from the hotel so no worries. The room was clean, spacious and had 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. The service was great. The guy was very friendly and helpful, he tried to help our needs. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. It was homemade with fresh fruits, juice and nice coffee. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list