We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Monteverde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked this place based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, but was slightly skeptical about just how nice Ana and Heiner were...until I met them. They have to be the kindest, most genuine people I have ever met. When we checked in Ana took the time to go over the area with us and recommend different activities for us to do based on our interests, after we had been in our room for a bit she brought us coffee, tea and a fresh fruit plate with chocolates. They called a taxi for us with the most amazing driver who took us on a mini tour of Monteverde and the breakfast in the morning was huge and delicious. We had only booked one night in Monteverde and I was kicking myself that we couldn't stay longer. I can't thank them enough for making our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    58
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
163
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place was great. The location was a little bit outside of central St. Elena, but easy to find. The couple that owns and runs the hotel are super nice and helpful and will help you to make any sort of tour/ziplining/adventure reservation you need. The rooms are clean, spacious and modernized, though the hot water did run out a little quickly. Rooms incude a little kitchenette with a frige, sink, microwave and coffee maker. And they give you a goodbye present when you leave. Absolutely wonderful hotel, and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a family of 3 (us + 2 yr old) traveling in Dec 2012, paid $70/night. The room was big and the beds comfortable, the shower clean & lots of hot water & strong water pressure (better than the posh hotel we stayed at in La Fortuna!).

We felt so welcome here, Ana and her husband gave us excellent service, whatever we needed they happily provided (milk for my daughter at night, pancakes & yogurt at breakfast for my fussy daughter, directions, restaurant tips, etc). Their breakfast (standard gallo pinto, plaintains, fruits and coffee) was great.

The only downside is the walls are paper thin - we could hear the people nx door waking up and chatting. This wasnt a big problem though bcoz we wake up early and come back late, like most tourists, so its not like they were keeping us up at night or woke us up early. We had the middle room though so we had 2 neighbors, so I would say request a corner room so at least u only have 1 neighbor.

Room Tip: Try not to get the middle room where you'll have 2 neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was by far the best place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and it is a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. More importantly, though, there aren't enough words to describe how kind, helpful and hospitable Ana and Heiner are. We happened to be here over Christmas and returned from ziplining on the 25th to find a platter of fresh fruit, chocolates, tamales and a traditional drink. Don't even bother considering any other place in Santa Elena. You'll want to take Ana and Heiner with you everywhere you go, and will feel like family by the time you leave! We were sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is located 5-10 min walk from the town, may get confused a bit at night if you are not used to the area but close enough and conveniently located. For most activities you are picked up directly from the hotel so no worries. The room was clean, spacious and had 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. The service was great. The guy was very friendly and helpful, he tried to help our needs. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. It was homemade with fresh fruits, juice and nice coffee. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The hosts are the nicest and sweetest people on earth. They will do anything to ensure that you have a comfortable stay here. The town is very close and its a nice walk to see the beautiful views of monteverde. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Starting with the facilities, the room was great. Lots of space, high ceilings, and extras such as a mini kitchen. Spacious shower with hot water. Coffee and filters were quickly provided on request. The windows looked out on woods and mountains. The place was also within easy walking distance of town.

But the real treat is the ownership. Heiner and Ana were so welcoming, friendly and helpful with requests and recommendations. They were great help in deciding what activities to do and made the reservations for us. Their restaurant recommendations were super. The breakfasts - included with the rooms - were great, including the gallo pinto with eggs, cheese and plantains, as well as fresh fruit, oj and cafe con leche.

Basically they made us feel very much at home with friends. A memorable stay.

Brad and Walter, Alajuela CR and Washington DC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.