We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save in Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 8 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was by far the best place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and it is a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. More importantly, though, there aren't enough words to describe how kind, helpful and hospitable Ana and Heiner are. We happened to be here over Christmas and returned from ziplining on the 25th to find a platter of fresh fruit, chocolates, tamales and a traditional drink. Don't even bother considering any other place in Santa Elena. You'll want to take Ana and Heiner with you everywhere you go, and will feel like family by the time you leave! We were sad to say goodbye.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
157
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is located 5-10 min walk from the town, may get confused a bit at night if you are not used to the area but close enough and conveniently located. For most activities you are picked up directly from the hotel so no worries. The room was clean, spacious and had 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. The service was great. The guy was very friendly and helpful, he tried to help our needs. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. It was homemade with fresh fruits, juice and nice coffee. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The hosts are the nicest and sweetest people on earth. They will do anything to ensure that you have a comfortable stay here. The town is very close and its a nice walk to see the beautiful views of monteverde. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Starting with the facilities, the room was great. Lots of space, high ceilings, and extras such as a mini kitchen. Spacious shower with hot water. Coffee and filters were quickly provided on request. The windows looked out on woods and mountains. The place was also within easy walking distance of town.

But the real treat is the ownership. Heiner and Ana were so welcoming, friendly and helpful with requests and recommendations. They were great help in deciding what activities to do and made the reservations for us. Their restaurant recommendations were super. The breakfasts - included with the rooms - were great, including the gallo pinto with eggs, cheese and plantains, as well as fresh fruit, oj and cafe con leche.

Basically they made us feel very much at home with friends. A memorable stay.

Brad and Walter, Alajuela CR and Washington DC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Heiner and Ana were fantastic hosts who did everything the could to make us feel at home. The breakfast was great. It included fruits, a choice of home cooked costs rican breakfast versus continental. The rooms were well priced, large, clean and has all the basic things you need. There is even a microwave and fridge in the room. The location is roughly 10 min walk from town. It was easy navigate even at night and no noise from the town as a result. It can get windy at night in monteverde so you might hear some wind at night but we slept well. Overall fantastic place and we would definitely come back. Thanks again Heiner and Ana!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 nights while exploring the nearby nature reserves. Heiner and Ana were the most charming hosts - from the welcome drink to the daily breakfasts to making sure we had toast and coffee before our 6am bus. They can also help with transport and provide info on local tours.

The cabin (we stayed in the one at the end of the property) was large, clean and comfortable. Beds had a blanket plus a thicker comforter to keep you warm at night. Just note that Monteverde can be a really windy place and on 2 nights, the wind was so strong that the surrounding trees kept banging into the walls/windows/roof.. so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to bring ear plugs.

The lodge is less than a 10 min walk into the main town of Santa Elena but we enjoyed staying away from the traffic noise of the main roads. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Heiner and Ana were so friendly that we are planningto go back to their place. We were welcomed with a freshly made lemonade upon arrival. Our room was ready, clean and big. During our stay they helped with anything: tours, Restaurants etc.
The freshly cooked breakfast tasted great and was served at a time we could choose.
We never had such lovely hosts who ally cared about their guests. Free wifi made the package perect.
Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge offer spacious individual cabins with fine woods finished beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounded by trees around and tropical plants, the cabins offer Microwave, coffee maker fridge and TV,this place is great choice for relax.our location is only 10 minutes walk to down town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.