We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monteverde Villa Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Villa Lodge
250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 9 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is located 5-10 min walk from the town, may get confused a bit at night if you are not used to the area but close enough and conveniently located. For most activities you are picked up directly from the hotel so no worries. The room was clean, spacious and had 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. The service was great. The guy was very friendly and helpful, he tried to help our needs. The complimentary breakfast was really nice. It was homemade with fresh fruits, juice and nice coffee. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    69
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
193
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hosts are the nicest and sweetest people on earth. They will do anything to ensure that you have a comfortable stay here. The town is very close and its a nice walk to see the beautiful views of monteverde. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Starting with the facilities, the room was great. Lots of space, high ceilings, and extras such as a mini kitchen. Spacious shower with hot water. Coffee and filters were quickly provided on request. The windows looked out on woods and mountains. The place was also within easy walking distance of town.

But the real treat is the ownership. Heiner and Ana were so welcoming, friendly and helpful with requests and recommendations. They were great help in deciding what activities to do and made the reservations for us. Their restaurant recommendations were super. The breakfasts - included with the rooms - were great, including the gallo pinto with eggs, cheese and plantains, as well as fresh fruit, oj and cafe con leche.

Basically they made us feel very much at home with friends. A memorable stay.

Brad and Walter, Alajuela CR and Washington DC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Heiner and Ana were fantastic hosts who did everything the could to make us feel at home. The breakfast was great. It included fruits, a choice of home cooked costs rican breakfast versus continental. The rooms were well priced, large, clean and has all the basic things you need. There is even a microwave and fridge in the room. The location is roughly 10 min walk from town. It was easy navigate even at night and no noise from the town as a result. It can get windy at night in monteverde so you might hear some wind at night but we slept well. Overall fantastic place and we would definitely come back. Thanks again Heiner and Ana!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 nights while exploring the nearby nature reserves. Heiner and Ana were the most charming hosts - from the welcome drink to the daily breakfasts to making sure we had toast and coffee before our 6am bus. They can also help with transport and provide info on local tours.

The cabin (we stayed in the one at the end of the property) was large, clean and comfortable. Beds had a blanket plus a thicker comforter to keep you warm at night. Just note that Monteverde can be a really windy place and on 2 nights, the wind was so strong that the surrounding trees kept banging into the walls/windows/roof.. so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to bring ear plugs.

The lodge is less than a 10 min walk into the main town of Santa Elena but we enjoyed staying away from the traffic noise of the main roads. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Heiner and Ana were so friendly that we are planningto go back to their place. We were welcomed with a freshly made lemonade upon arrival. Our room was ready, clean and big. During our stay they helped with anything: tours, Restaurants etc.
The freshly cooked breakfast tasted great and was served at a time we could choose.
We never had such lovely hosts who ally cared about their guests. Free wifi made the package perect.
Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Monteverde Villa Lodge. We walked to town several times a day and got wonderful information/tips/help from Ana and Heiner. They are great! Breakfast is delicious, and we were greeted with pineapple juice and coffee upon arrival. They even shared their son's toys with our son!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 8 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#2 of 10 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 4 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Villa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.