We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Anthony!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   400 Mts North National Bank, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Den Helder, Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Thanks Anthony!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay at Santa Elena for only one night. Eventually, it became three nights. Anthony is the owner of the B&B and was very helpfull telling us wich tours were nice to do and tried to make our stay as good as it could be. He even bought a birthday cake for my husband! The breakfast was great, the views from the balcony into the valley are really nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatrickenMarline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Koeniz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Anthony runs the business very professional, he even sent a map and a pricelist of tours after booking. Of course you can book every tour, as in any other hostal, too. Breakfast is included and very good, it is done by Anthonys mum. Rooms are very clean, hot shower, two computers in the lobby area for free use. Takes credit cards without surcharge. Rooms with view from the balcony are a bit expensive, but splendid. But: Yes, the walls are a bit thin, you can hear your neighbour snoring in the night... no big deal.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are cheaper and still very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mar Inn is located about 400 meters from the center of Santa Elena. It is a small, family run hotel. The family who runs it is very friendly, the atmosphere is excellent, the rooms are clean, breakfast is good, and there is a great balcony with views all the way across Arenal lake , 1000 meters below.
We stayed there with our 3 children and enjoyed it a lot

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamiTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Selected Mar Inn due to the great reviews, location and price. Our room was basic but very clean with all the necessities - including a safe which was a bonus at this price range and provides additional piece of mind. The location was great - close enough to town to avoid the need for taxis but far enough away to avoid the constant traffic (one night was noisy next door but slept perfectly fine with ear plugs). Balcony with rocking chairs provided a great wind down for each day. Breakfast was tops with fresh fruit, pancakes and eggs. Laundry service was reasonably priced. Best of all was Anthony who provided excellent advice and suggestions throughout our four days in monteverde. Will stay here again if lucky enough to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank e m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for just one night in early July. We were late arriving and the hosts were helpful in rescheduling a tour we had missed. The only down side was the rooms had a musty odor which could be a problem if someone had allergy to mold. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We were with 2 adults and 3 kids and the room was stadions enough. Very clean, new bathroom and breakfast was delicious.
Both Anthony and his family were very hands-on and helped us a lot during our stay. We extended our stay for another night and we felt like home. So this is a very recommandable stay if you want to get value for money!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This B&B is clean and nice with all the necessities. Anthony was very helpful to us in giving recommendations and for booking tours for us. Breakfast was always good. The hotel is located right at the edge of town, which is good if you want to walk in for dinner or catch a ride with a tour somewhere. There is a lot of street noise and noise from the hotel next door, but if you bring your earplugs for sleeping you should be fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#1 of 11 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 400 Mts North National Bank, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at just 5min from Santa Elena downtown, Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast is your best choice to discover Monteverde. Managed by a local family, Mar Inn offers a warm and personalized service that will make every guest feel at home. The hotel offers a wonderful view to the Gulf of Nicoya, private parking and rooms with all the facilities that will make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing