We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Eddy B&B to your Saves list
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“The most friendly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a very short but wonderful stay. The rooms are simple but very spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the host is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend cabinas eddy for your stay in Monteverde!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
159
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's hard to decide what the best part of our stay was, because everything was phenomenal. But if I was forced to choose, I'd have to say Freddy. Freddy was beyond amazing. He picked us up from the bus station the night we arrived, gave us a quick tour of downtown on the way back to the hotel, then spent a good five minutes with us pouring over a map of Santa Elena and pointing out everything to see and do in the area. Our first language is English but we often spoke to him in Spanish, not because we had to (he speaks perfect English) but because we wanted to practice our Spanish (he was happy to help!).

The expanded breakfast was fantastic, and because of the deal on TripAdvisor, it was free! Freddy easily accommodated our dietary restrictions, and even cooked our breakfast early on our final day (we had a 6 am bus to catch) and then drove us to the bus station! We also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon coffee and free internet.

Our room was simple and clean. Housekeeping came every day to sweep, empty the trash, and make the bed. They even did laundry for us at no extra charge!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was our favorite place we stayed while in Costa Rica, and by far the most economical for what we got in return. Cabinas Eddy is the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great stay at cabinas eddy! The owner, Freddy, was so kind and helpful. He booked our tours, shuttles and gave us extremely useful travel tips and information. He even took us to see a sloth down the street from the hotel - dream come true! Also, delicious breakfast and coffee. I highly recommend cabinas eddy for your stay in Monteverde!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First of all, this is a wonderfully run place that feels like you're part of the family! Everything that you read about Freddy is true. He's simply the best! When we arrived, he gave us a map and pointed out some of the highlights in the area and helped to get us a great deal on everything from the Extremo Canopy tour (do this for sure!) to the shuttle to Playa Hermosa! He even drove us to the Massage Therapist down the street in his own car! I love that he suggested things that we off the beaten path such as the Ficus Tree (this is totally free and you get to climb a tree!) to the best places to eat. (We really loved "Taco, Taco" for lunch and Sabor Tico for dinner. Both are inexpensive).

The rooms are simple and basic so if you're expecting the Hilton, you will not find it here, but that's why it's so affordable. If you want a clean room, comfortable bed and the best banana pancakes in Costa Rica, then you will love this place! Also, who knew the wifi would work so great?!?! But it did!

A quick tip: we took a cab up to Monteverde at 10:30 am with another couple and we missed all the crowds and tours that head out in the morning. I think this was a great time to go! Bring your rain gear or you can buy a poncho at the gift shop.

This place is a gem! We were so glad we stayed for 4 nights because there is so much to do nearby and it was much more affordable than other parts of Costa Rica. (We wished we would have stayed longer instead of going to Playa Hermosa which was extremely expensive and not as much fun!) Book this now! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony and it was great! Room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Cabinas Eddy for 2 nights in Feb 13. All the great things you read about Freddy and this B&B are true. He is extremely helpful. Gives information about the various activities in the area, but does not pressure customers to choose any particular company. We stayed in the corner room upstairs. It was very comfortable and clean. Their breakfast is made to order-it is great.

We would highly recommend the early morning tour at the Monteverde cloud forest. You could get to the cloud forest either by local bus or by shuttle. We walked back to town after the tour. It is a long walk, but it is nice. Please note that there is sidewalk for more than half of the way to town. It is a little hidden and not paved. But still safer than walking on the road.

Cabinas Eddy is centrally located. Restaurants and grocery stores are all within walking distance. TacoTaco in town had excellent and very reasonably priced food.

In fact, if you are a bird watcher, ask Freddy for suggestions. We saw many types of birds on our various walks near the hotel.

Thank you Freddy and family. Wish you all the best.
Vivek

Room Tip: Corner room on the first floor was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at Cabinas Eddy after being let down by a previously booked hotel. From the minute I walked in Freddy was very helpful, showing places to go on the map and showing both rooms available at the time, even letting me use the phone to call other hotels for my next destination (Arenal). The two rooms I saw were both beautiful, immaculately decorated and very cleanly. The night I stayed here was the best nights sleep I'd had in weeks! I was surprised to find breakfast was also included which was very tasty. There is also a communal kitchen so you can make your own food to save a few pennies. Thank you to Freddy and family for everything! I'll definately come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

From all the Trip Advisor reviews we thought "how could this places really be that good"?
It was and more. Freddie, his family and staff were all so delightful and helpful, we felt well taken care of. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious. The breakfasts were delicious and the location was very convenient to restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Eddy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.