We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Eddy B&B to your Saves list
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service and friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My stay at this quaint hotel was excellent. Freddy is one of the nicest people I have ever met! Free breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, great service, and affordable price. I am sad I only stayed one night. Definitely coming back here!

Room Tip: The private rooms are not too much more than the dorms, so it's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
159
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Cette auberge familiale est rustique, propre et accueillante. Son propriétaire Freddy et sa femme sont très accueillants et amicaux, Freddy est aussi très patient avec les gens qui apprennent l'Espagnol ! L'espace commun de l'auberge favorise les rencontres et permet de contempler l'extérieur souvent venteux de Santa Elena à l'abri, en savourant un bon café.
L'emplacement est super, à un véritable 100 m du centre de Santa Elena et des commerces. Ce fut un plaisir d'y séjourner et nous avons hâte d'y retourner ! Sebastian y Maria

This family guesthouse is clean, rustic and warm. The owner, Freddy, and his wife are really friendly. Freddy is also very patient with people learning spanish ! The shared living room is great to meet other travellers and allows you to look at the outside while drinking a coffee, safe and warm from the wind of Santa Elena. The guesthouse is near Santa Elena's center, a real 100m away from action and restaurants !
It's been a pleasure to stay there and we can't wait to go back there. Sebastian y Maria

Room Tip: Pretty much all the room have good view on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, and inexpensive place to stay in Santa Elena, look no further than Cabinas Eddy. On top of those superlatives, consider that the lodging rate includes a personnally prepared breakfast, a welcome that makes you feel like family, and English fluency. Freddy can set you up with all sorts of activities and tours as well.

We stayed there for 2 nights (wish it could have been longer...) in January, 2012 and are planning to return at the first opportunity! One morning, we had a very early birdwatching tour, but Freddy made breakfast for us anyway. When we returned tired and hungry and a bit frustrated that all the restaurants in town were closed on Sunday morning, he promptly cooked up a second breakfast for us.

If you plan of visiting the beautiful Monteverde area of Costa Rica, stay at Cabinas Eddy!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the building are probably quieter. They offer both private and shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We found this hostel by chance when we were looking to stay in Monteverde.
The rooms are big, with new mattress (very comfortable) and have an excelent view.
The batrooms are very clean, always with hot water.
The location is excelent because of it is in a very quiet road.
The owner of the place is very gentile, he helped us a lot to organize what we did in Monteverde.
The breakfasts are very rich, I recommend trying the pancakes prepared by Freddy.
In conclusion do not waste time looking where to stay in Monteverde, this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is my first review, and there are good reasons why it is for Cabinas Eddy! The place is very nice and comfortable (nice view and hammocks), and the breakfast is delicious (and really you can ask for it at any time in the morning), but the difference is made by Freddy and his family. He is the best you can ask for, and not only for the basic things. He really tries to help you in any way, and his afternoon teas make you feel at home. But the best is when he goes out looking for animals in the surroundings and then comes back knocking at your door to tell you: "there's a sloth over there, want to come and see it?". Really a nice person, I stayed for three nights, but I could have spend there more time; maybe next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed only for one night, but the hostel was really good, tooms nice and clean, and staff especially friendly. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our favorite hostel in Costa Rica! It's more like a hotel than a hostel. It's clean, came with a delicious breakfast (get the pancakes!), and the owner is a genuinely nice person. It's quite after 9 pm so you don't have to worry about noise. The hammock is so nice to lay in after a long day. And there's always hot coffee or hot tea waiting for you. We met a lot of nice people here too. Freddy came to let us know when there was a sloth right outside the hostel. Overall, it was a great experience. We just can't gush enough about this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are closer to the hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Eddy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.