We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Cabinas Eddy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Eddy B&B to your Saves list
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Love Cabinas Eddy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our favorite hostel in Costa Rica! It's more like a hotel than a hostel. It's clean, came with a delicious breakfast (get the pancakes!), and the owner is a genuinely nice person. It's quite after 9 pm so you don't have to worry about noise. The hammock is so nice to lay in after a long day. And there's always hot coffee or hot tea waiting for you. We met a lot of nice people here too. Freddy came to let us know when there was a sloth right outside the hostel. Overall, it was a great experience. We just can't gush enough about this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are closer to the hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
159
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Freddy and his family have made our time in St. Elena-Monteverde the best of our trip. We are three women traveling together and vote our time here very highly. Freddy does more to help and accommodate his guests than we have ever seen. We´ve had other very nice accommodations and hosts who also speak English and offered us tips but Freddy and family are truly do so much more for their guests than one would expect. We knew Monteverde would be a highlight, staying at Cabinas Eddy enhanced our time here even more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatley, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We reserved a room at Eddy on a very rainy night, and Freddy, Eddy's brother, met us at the bus station to give us a ride at the hotel, even though the hotel is only 5 min from downtown. He also gave us a ride to the bus station at the end of our stay, at 6 oclock in the morning, after giving us breakfast and coffee. The rooms are small but spotless and with great views. The common areas are welcoming and confortable, and there is a small shared kitchen. All in all, highly recommanded.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

What an amazing place, on a mountain side, falling asleep to the sound of cricket's, this place is what I think of when I think of truly relaxing and Tranquil Costa Rica.

Cabina's Eddy is run by Freddy and his wife with help from his daughter as well, they truly make you feel very conferrable. Freddy is truly a genuinely nice guy.

At $30 for a double room with a private bathroom, this place is by far one of the best deals here in Montaverde, an Amazing Breakfast is also included for that price.

The one complaint I do have though is the shower is not the best, but for 1 or 2 days, I think I can go without the best shower in my life for such a wonderful place like Cabina's eddy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Delightful! You will not meet a nicer guy than Freddy, the owner of this cool place. He cooks an amazing breakfast, gets you the best deals on tours and transfers and is genuinely interested and friendly to everyone. He and his family deserve everyone's business!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We showed up in Santa Elena without reservations, and luckily found Cabinas Eddy after visiting a few other places that did not impress. It's conveniently located about a two minute walk down the hill from the center of town. For a really cheap rate, we got a private room with a double bed and TV, which was very clean.

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed it. Freddy and his family were very helpful with anything we needed - probably the nicest person we met in Costa Rica! Also, the homemade breakfast was amazing (especially the banana pancakes), and they even served it around 5:15 when we had to leave early one morning.

Couldn't recommend this place more -- amazing value!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home sweet home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Cabinas Eddy very, very much. The atmosphere was very familiar. We got good tips which made our experiences in Monteverde unforgetable.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Eddy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.