We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde

Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+50626455238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Santa Elena
Type: Trams
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: While staying in Monteverde don’t miss the Sky Tram that will lead you up to the Continental Divide and to one of the highest mountains in the area.  Sky Tram is a guided tour where you can have the opportunity to observe the cloud forest outstanding biodiversity, the majestic Arenal Volcano and the Nicoya Gulf.The Sky Trek’s zip lines go from mountain to mountain, allowing you fly through a cable at speeds up to 40 miles per hour and heights of over 520 feet.  There are also 5 observation towers that surpass the cloud forest treetops, providing amazing panoramic views our company has a braking system that was superior to what I'd experienced in other places.The zip linesthemselvesare long and fast, when the clouds cleared, we were able to see the ocean, which was amazing. It is a really great experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Your guide really makes the difference when going on the sky trek walk. We happeneed to get a medicore guide, hence our experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    79
    23
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The zip line height and speed is awesome! We have done quite a few canopy zip lines but those are under the trees. This one...the trees are well below your feet. The guides were great with plenty of instruction and safety. I wouldnt think that small kids or people with limited mobility would enjoy the zip line as it was its pretty intense and requires a little extra physical effort. But it is a thrill for sure.

This place DOES take credit cards. We used ours in the gift shop and for pictures. They have a little restaurant too. I am not sure why someone stated they do not take cards. They also have free lockers and bathrooms.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, just wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

They have the fastest zip lining in Monteverde and the longest combined course. My only ding would be that they do not take credit cards, so bring extra cash if you want to buy lunch, rent a gopro camera or pay for the photo they take of you on the zip line. I was unable to. The guides here were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We really enjoyed this trek. We did the trek then the tram/ziplining.

The trek was awesome and we saw a ton of wildlife, which was awesome. The guide was very nice and knowledgable.

The ziplining was blast, but going down one double was a bit scary and my fiancee scuffed her knee coming to a stop on the line.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth seeing but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were in CR in May and very much wanted to see the cloud forest. We were informed that Sky Trek Adventures was the place we wanted to go. They offer a guided tour near the ground and along hanging bridges, a tram ride up through the clouds and the canopy, as well as a zip-lining experience. We opted out of the zip line as we had already done that at Extremo Canopy Tours but very much enjoyed the sky tram & trek. The cost for both of those attractions was $55US.. a bit pricey but the tour guides were very informative.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde also viewed

Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Trek - Sky Tram Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.